My Reviews (72)

Meat and Mushroom Pasta Sauce

This is a very robust and hearty beef and pork pasta sauce with lots of mushrooms. Serve over your favourite pasta with Parmesan cheese.
Reviews (72)


24 Aug 2003
Simply terrific!! I'm from a long line of great Italian cooks, but I haven't been one of them. My sauce was never as good as "the grandmas", but since I tried this recipe, thats all changed, everyone loves it, (including grandma)now I get to make the sauce every Sunday. Only change I made was I use 2 cups of red wine instead of 3. I used a Cabernet Sauvignon.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Jul 2006
Reviewed by: Jason
I give this one a five after I made some changes. I liked how the seasonings were in this, unique and fresh, I left out the rosemary and added fresh basil although I made sure not to add more basil than I did oregano. My sauce was a bit salty, so I added probaby 4-5 tsps of sugar, I think the saltiness comes from canned tomato. In the future I may use a can of crushed tomato which I think would create a consistency I prefer. For heat I added some sliced up italian sausage which I added raw to the sauce and let cook along with a little crushed red pepper. I used two cups of red wine, that was plenty. Simmer it an hour at night, and then leave it over night to simmer another few hours the next day. Went great over Rigatoni.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Jul 2000
Reviewed by: SAG
My husband and I thought this recipe was good. Very meaty and thick! One word of caution, if you don't like the smell and flavor of red wine it's not for you. Even after being fully cooked down and 3 full days of the flavors blending the wine taste and smell was still strong with your first few bites. (until you get used to it again) We only made it once so it's possible that a wine less body would be al that is needed. Thanks for giving us this new recipe to try.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Mar 2011
Reviewed by: Sara Ball
this sauce is exceptional!!! I used half ground beef and half bulk italian sausage. For the wine I used Cab Sav from Barefoot. For the people who found the sauce a little "winey", the key is to let the wine reduce when adding it to the sauted vegetables. I also used 1 large can of tomato sauce, 1 large can of tomato puree and 1 large can of crushed tomatoes, just to get some different textures. I also used fresh thyme, rosemary and oregano, which I put in with the wine. Towards the end of the simmering, I added some cumin, crushed red pepper flakes and a pinch of cinnamon. It makes a ton of sauce, but freezes well
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Aug 2009
Reviewed by: Bucho
This is a really goody recipe. My wife and I vary it per the ingrediants we have on hand, sometimes using italian sausage or sometimes using only ground beef. If we don't have fresh herbs we'll just use Italian Seasoning. Either way it's always dependably good. I especially like using this sauce when I'm making the Baked Ziti 1 recipe on this website, which uses provolone and sour cream. Absolutely delicious!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Dec 2008
Reviewed by: THOM79
This is a 4 star recipe but has 5 star possibility with some changes. But still a great sauce! I made it the night before and left it in fridge overnight before reheating it on the stove. I also didn't use any wine.I thought it also only needed 1 onion and 1 lb of mushrooms instead of 2. Instead of using 3 cans of tomato sauce I tried cans of italian peeled tomatoes and adding a green pepper.I made meatballs for the sauce too and let them simmer and thought it came out excellent.Next time I will try some Italian sausages.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Jan 2006
Reviewed by: michellew
Excellent! Cut recipe in half and found it quite tasty! Added in more garlic though and used crushed tomatoes.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Mar 2002
Reviewed by: TRUCKERDOO
This sauce was great, exactly what I was looking for. I subbed in some ground Turkey to make it a little healthier, and added some sugar and nutmeg to the sauce which really rounded out the flavor and made it truly delectable. I will make this again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Jul 2000
Reviewed by: TLKRAK
This is truly an authentic recipe. My family enjoyed the unique flavor. Keep in mind, however, the taste of wine is powerful. A recipe you should avoid if you are do not like wine.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Mar 2011
Reviewed by: chefster
Another fantastic recipe. I wanted to try something a little different and I'm so glad I did. Got me a bottle of red wine and got straight to work. You know, I make a pretty good home made meat sauce, but after this I don't think I can ever go back. Just WOW!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes