My Reviews (34)

Buttermilk Crumb Cake

This is a delicious and mellow crumb cake with a hint of cinnamon and cloves. It's perfect for brunch or afternoon tea.
Reviews (34)


10 Jan 2007
Reviewed by: foodaholic
I added pecans and whisky soaked raisins, I'm a huge fan of crumb topping (muffin tops oh yeah) so I always go heavier with that.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Dec 2011
Reviewed by: Baker110
After enjoying a crumb cake from my local grocery store, I decided to try out this recipe. Maybe it is just that the crumb cake I am used to is exceptional because I did not actually like this as much as I thought I would. Like other members have said, it is more like a spice cake, and those flavors are quite strong.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Nov 2011
Reviewed by: tdhko
this cake was very easy and pretty good, just what i am looking for, but it seems like it is missing something....i don't know what, but it needs something....help me out
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Apr 2011
Reviewed by: Hauser 49
Cake was OK. More like spice cake, I think because of the cloves more than anything. My topping didn't turn out to be crumbly like a crumb cake, which was disappointing because I made it for a friend's birthday who just loves crumb cake.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Jan 2010
Reviewed by: dawnatron
Very good, similar to the one my mother-in-law makes, which is my husband's favorite. I have to bake it 35 minutes in my oven.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Mar 2019
Reviewed by: Armand
I don't understand the four star rating, for me, it is a five Starr Crumb Cake. Very tasty! I would not change a thing.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Nov 2017
Reviewed by: Savanah Kempenich
The cake itself tastes good but the crumb topping was a disappointment, came out white and thin instead of the usual brown and crunchy, I would suggest adding some nuts, or nutmeg to the topping to make it better
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Feb 2017
Reviewed by: ChristineM
This was just ok, not really what I was expecting, but not all that bad either. The cake part is very moist and flavorful, the topping very sparse and disappointing. It kind of melted around the edges, but was powdery in the middle. Only changes were to use soured milk and add a teaspoon of vanilla extract. This would be a good cake to add some raising or chopped apple to.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Jan 2017
Reviewed by: stantonstreetkid
A great, moist and satisfying cake. Will definitely make it again. Like others here, I needed more of the crumbly topping, but that was easy. A favorite for sure! Thanks to contributor of this recipe and for all the comments.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Oct 2016
Reviewed by: Dana Smith
Very good recipe. The first time I made this, I followed the directions to a tee and got more of a spiced cake. The second time around, I added the cloves, cinnamon AND brown sugar to the topping, not the cake. Perfection! Needless to say, I brought both to work and viola!, they both disappeared within minutes. My thanks to the contributor of the recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes