My Reviews (34)

Buttermilk Crumb Cake

This is a delicious and mellow crumb cake with a hint of cinnamon and cloves. It's perfect for brunch or afternoon tea.
Reviews (34)


28 Feb 2009
Reviewed by: Baileysmom
Like most folks, I changed it a bit, but maybe in an unexpected manner. I eliminated the cloves and used only cinnamon, 1 1/2 tsp total. Then I divided the batter into 6 large muffins. I topped the muffins with the crumbs as directed and baked according to directions. My family loved them.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Dec 2001
Reviewed by: LOUISE CANADA
This cake was pretty good, but I'd call it a spice cake instead of crumb cake. The cake has a dark color, because of the cinnamon and cloves. The crumb topping was sparce.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
31 Jan 2010
Reviewed by: DEED404
I didn't have buttermilk so I used 1/2 cup sour cream and 1/2 cup milk and this was WONDERFUL!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Feb 2007
Reviewed by: TELLERG
Yummy! Call it what you will, spice cake, crumb cake - whatever, but make sure you call it delicious! I found it very moist with just the right combination of spices and flavorings - I also love a crumb topping and was looking for something just a little different, and this fit the bill nicely. I took it to work and it soon disappeared. I did add some raisins and walnuts, but no doubt it would have been just as good without them. I will definitely be making this one again soon.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Jun 2009
Reviewed by: CANELSON
Excellent and easy. I did not have cloves or buttermilk,substituted nutmeg and milk with a teaspoon of vinegar. Made this as a side for Dad's Day scrambled eggs with cheese and Canadian bacon...he love it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 May 2009
Reviewed by: DebFromAustralia
I first tried Crumb Cake while on vacation in Honolulu and I was keen to try making this cake myself. I used this recipe and found that it made a wonderful tasting cake that was easy to make and very moist. The only thing I would possibly change next time would be a slight reduction in the amount of cinnamon but for those that like their spice, stay with with the recipe measurements. A delicious cake and one that I will definitely make again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Dec 2008
Reviewed by: kissmeagain123
I loved this recipe! it baked up wonderfully .. I had added left over nuts that I had laying arround almonds and pecans and walnuts it was fantastic I also substatuted the butter milk with half sour cream and real milk it was fabulose
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Mar 2012
Reviewed by: QueenCook
This was definitely more of a spice cake, all the spices made it taste like a pumpkin cake too! We liked it, but if you are looking for a crumb cake, I would advise another.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Jan 2012
Reviewed by: Allison Lubin Silvia
It was good... the only change I made was substituting milk and a tablespoon of vinegar for the buttermilk. The kids enjoyed it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Sep 2010
Reviewed by: Kneece Camp
Wow! This cake turned out so moist, so flavorful, so fluffy! We loved it!!!!!!! Our crumbs didn't turn out quite crumb-y enough. Not sure what we did wrong.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes