My Reviews (30)

Date and Orange Muffins

These muffins are very easy to make if you use a food processor to chop the orange. Cinnamon can be added for a little more spice.
Reviews (30)


Comment:
29 Sep 2008
LOPIEKITTY said:
Used different ingredients. Excellent!!! These were so nice and moist** didn't have sour cream -but- Yoghurt worked just fine, added some spices. GREAT.
 
Comment:
29 Sep 2008
SEMANO said:
Altered ingredient amounts. Yummy and moist like little puddings. I added some ground cloves and cinnamon, and only used 1/3 the skin from the orange. I don't think I would use any more peel than that as the variety of orange I used had quite a thick peel.
 
Comment:
29 Sep 2008
CHESHIREMAN said:
Something else. am a bit ambivelent here as far as rating. Would rate 3.5 stars. I read all reviews first and used just 1/2 the orange peel reserving the other half in case I wanted to add more but didn't need to. These did have a very nice orange flavour. Put the eggs, juice, sugar, dates and orange in my food processor. I thought at first I had added too much powder or soda because it had that 'fizzy' look and texture but realised it was just reacting with the acid in the juice. Subbed some of the oj with fresh pineapple juice and they still had very nice orange flavour. The problem I have with this is #1. not really sweet enough so would be more like a breakfast muffin. I intend on glazing them w/some sugar mixed with oj and rind to help with this. #2. I was alarmed when I saw one reviewer mention the word 'pudding' like texture. I found I had to bake them a bit longer to get rid of that spongy pudding like texture and it didn't completely. Added 1 tsp. cinnamon, 1/2 tsp. each of allspice and nutmeg and 1/4 tsp. cardamum. These blend of spices were complimentary. Very good flavour but just lacking in sweetness and the texture.
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: Princess Mandy
Although I added cinnamon, the muffins were a little bland. Next time will add more sugar & spice.
 
29 Sep 2008
Reviewed by: MARIEELLENMCM
Moist and delicious--a nice change from the usual.
 
15 Nov 2003
Reviewed by: pkelley
Here are some changes that make these muffins even better.... OMIT: sour cream ADD: 1 stick butter (room temperature), 1/2 cup chopped pecans INCREASE: white sugar to 3/4 cup. Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Cut orange in pieces and remove pits. In food processor, put in whole orange, o.j., egg, and butter. Blend for 3 to 4 minutes. Sift dry ingredients into a bowl. Mix in chopped dates. Add wet ingredients to dry and mix until just blended. Bake at 400 degrees F for 15 minutes. You'll love this even better!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Jun 2006
Reviewed by: Princetonbound
I mixed the orange juice, chopped orange, chopped dates, egg and sugar in my blender. I increased the sugar just a bit, from 1/3 cup to 1/2 cup, and used fat free yogurt for the sour cream. The flavour is lovely, and I made no other changes.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 May 2011
Reviewed by: Aaron
When I read through the recipe, I assumed that "peel" meant "zest," so that's what I did, and the flavor was spot on. I even used water instead of orange juice, since I didn't have any, and the flavor was just orangey enough. The texture was deliciously perfect. If you're having problems with the texture, consider switching to "Metric" up above in the "Servings" section and weighing your dry ingredients, especially your flour. It will make the baking process much more foolproof. Plus, it's a lot easier on clean-up...just place your mixing bowl on the scale, press tare, pour your ingredient to needed weight, press tare, pour your next ingredient, etc. No need for measuring cups let alone scooping and leveling and getting flour and sugar everywhere. I've converted all of my recipes...just because I like less cleanup!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 May 2001
Reviewed by: icesx
Although I added cinnamon, the muffins were a little bland. Next time will add more sugar & spice.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Mar 2003
Reviewed by: A cook from AB.
Excellent!!! These were so nice and moist** didn't have sour cream -but- Yogurt worked just fine, added some spices. GREAT.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes