My Reviews (34)

Easy Shortbread Biscuits

These are amazingly easy biscuits with a heavenly taste like a cross between oat biscuits and shortbread. Not too sweet.
Reviews (34)


11 May 2001
Reviewed by: JENNIFER HOYER
Great recipe. I found that pressing dough into 8 x 8 pan and baking is great, or even better forming dough into log and chilling overnight then slicing and baking is even better. Great flavor, my husband loves them!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Jan 2004
Reviewed by: KBL
This was a very big hit in my family--everyone wanted the recipe at Christmas. Best method for me was rolling into a log, then slicing. For a different (and really yummy) flavor and texture, try six-grain "oat"meal. We discovered this when it was the only thing in the house to use (CA grocery strike). Also was very good with raw sugar sprinkled over the top before baking--gives cookies a bit of a sparkle and a touch of sweetness.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
31 Oct 2005
Reviewed by: Mrs. Evelyn Paradies
Fantastic, but surprising dough. I mixed up the dough, put it in the refrigerator, went to gather eggs, found the dough had expanded over the top of the bowl and pushed the refrigerator door open. I worked the dough back down, spreading it out in a 7x12 pan, baked it and enjoyed very much a wonderful cookie. I would like to know what makes the dough expand and if anyone else had that happen. Mrs. Evelyn Parideis
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Aug 2012
Reviewed by: Pat D
Roll the dough quite thin and cut into rounds. Bake. Fill with date filling. Can you just imagine???javascript:__doPostBack('ctl00$ContentPlaceholder$edit$saveButton','')
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Feb 2005
Reviewed by: JERAJDAI
Very simple recipe, but taste great! Cookies are lightly sweet, great for people who don't have a sweet tooth. Final mixing of the creamed butter/sugar with the flour/oatmeal does take a bit of a strong arm, but definitely worth the effort. I used a touch of almond extract in mine, which turned out well.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Dec 2007
Reviewed by: CHERRYBAJULA
These cookies are super easy to make and taste great! I left my dough in the fridge over night and then just before baking, placed them in the freezer for about 15mins. I found it made the dough easier to work with. I placed marischino cherry peices on top for decoration. My roommates loved them!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Jun 2009
Reviewed by: alliesoap
i used dark brown sugar and rolled into balls. i pressed my thumb into cookies and added jelly on top. they were wonderfull my family loved them
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Jan 2007
Reviewed by: CookinKate
My husband loved these. I would give them 4 1/2 stars if I could. Very easy to make. Rolling in a log and slicing the dough worked well for me. I baked them on a Silpat sheet and had to bake them almost twice as long as the recipe suggested.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Jan 2001
Reviewed by: LORI Q
The dough wouldn't stick together. I couldn't even roll it out. Had to form into balls and flatten with a glass. Very disappointed.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Dec 2012
Reviewed by: Canadian Guy
Its a nice shortbread cookie with and edge of healthy. I find these better than regular short bread. So does the family.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes