My Reviews (147)

Cinnamon Oat Raisin Biscuits

This recipe makes a chewy oat raisin bar biscuit with just a touch of cinnamon. You can also add chocolate chips instead of raisins for a more indulgent treat.
Reviews (147)


04 Sep 2006
Reviewed by: chef tara
NOTE: The boiling of the raisins (put in a microwave bowl, cover with water and microwave 5 mins. Let sit for about 10 more mins.) This made such a difference; I'm glad I read that in these reviews. These bars are absolutely fantastic! I can't keep my husband away from these! I can't believe how easy this was. For an added treat I frosted some with white frosting and they tasted awesome (I was having a sugar craving at the time!!)
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Oct 2008
Reviewed by: Jay H.
I have modified this recipe slightly and always hear "These are the best I've ever had". Here are the modifications I like (for 24 servings recipe) - Use equal amounts of white & brown sugar (1/2 cup each). Change the amount of raisins to 1 1/2 cups. Change the amount of Vanilla & Cinnamon to 1 Tablespoon each instead of 1/2 teaspoon. Roll into 1 1/2 inch balls and put on the cookie sheet and bake at 350 for 15 minutes.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Jan 2007
Reviewed by: PLAYKITTENPIE
Finally! These are great! They aren't full of fat and greasy like all the other oatmeal cookie recipes I have tried from this site and for once, the recipe works perfectly fine as is! You don't have to read through a thousand reviews and mark down all the changes you need to make to have it turn out! You can make them as bar cookies or just drop cookies. I had no "self-rising" flour so I added 1 tsp of baking powder and used "salted" butter, actually I used Becel (a healthy, soft, tub type margerine)and the recipe turned out superb. (Self-rising flour is just regular flour with added baking powder and salt, you will notice baking recipes that call for it usually do not call for baking powder.) I also had to use whole wheat pastry flour (a very fine ground whole wheat flour you will find at a health-food store) because I ran out of all-purpose flour but my kids still gobbled them up! Anyway, thank you so much for sharing this recipe!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Jul 2007
Reviewed by: RENEEHOWARD
These were very good! I made the recipe exactly as written and had great results. I baked for 14 minutes to get the edges to start browning, then pulled it out. Don't be alarmed if the center seems underdone. The top and bottom crisp up as the bars cool, leaving a crisp outside and chewy inside. For me, at least half the charm was that this recipe was SO easy and baked in so little time, giving almost immediate results. The flavor was great and this recipe would be very easy to modify if you wanted to add some extra goodies like coconut, toffee bits or chocolate chips of any variety, as well as changing the recipe so that it would be more nutritious. Don't be afraid to try this one, folks. It's easy, quick and tastey!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Apr 2007
Reviewed by: V. Rice
I just made these cookies for my mother and they were excellent. I did notice that these were a bar cookie recipe but I made them into cookies instead.I read some of the other reviews before making these cookies and made sure to put my raisins in a boil of water and microwave them for 5 minutes. This made the raisins very plump and juicy. Make sure to drain them before adding them to the mixture. I used a tablespoon to scoop out the cookies and put them on the cookie sheets. I also doubled the amount of cinnamon and added a teaspoon of nutmeg to the mix.I also added 3/4 cup of chopped pecans. An outsanding cookie very soft and chewy just the way I like them.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Apr 2002
Reviewed by: RFPNC
We found this recipe quick and easy to make. I changed the sugar amounts to 1/2 cup white sugar and 1/2 cup brown sugar, and added coconut because we happened to have it handy. The recipe is very adaptable; the cookies were very moist and delicious. A definite hit with the kids, and a very portable cookie (doesn't fall apart)
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Jun 2007
Reviewed by: LizL
Wow! These are great...Again the recipe is perfect. I love that they are not full of fatty ingredients. I made a couple of changes because I didn't have all of the ingredients: 1) Used whole wheat flour and all purpose flour; 2)I added 1 teaspoon of baking powder since I didn't have self-rising flour; 3) used 1/2 cup of brown sugar and 1/2 of white sugar; 4)doubled the amount of cinnamon. They are by far the best oatmeal raisin bar recipe! Thank you soooo much. I will definetly do this one over and over.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Mar 2004
Reviewed by: SUGARREI
So easy to make and so tasty! It's an essential during camping trips because of their portability. Sometimes I add walnut or pecan pieces just to give it an extra crunch. Watch them in the oven carefully though; once it's all brown in colour, it will be a tad on the tough side.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Nov 2006
Reviewed by: aislinn
Oh my! These are the best cookies I have made in a long, long time! They have the perfect amount of sugar, raisins and aren't too greasy. I made a big batch and brought them to a Halloween party and they were a BIG hit. I plan to make some as Christmas gifts to give to friends (if I don't eat them all).*****
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Apr 2006
Reviewed by: Robin C
amazing! Everyone that tasted these loved them. I used 1/2 c. white sugar instead of 3/4 c, and they were the perfect sweetness for me. Otherwise, I followed the recipe to the letter.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes