My Reviews (73)

Oatmeal Walnut Biscuits

This is a very traditional oatmeal biscuit recipe. It's also good with almonds or pecans instead of walnuts.
Reviews (73)


17 Aug 2008
Reviewed by: Erin Quinn
These cookies deserve every bit of five stars. The only tip to pass along is to be sure to chop the nuts into smallish pieces, they are much better if they kind of blend into the texture of the cookie rather than stand out. I am so happy to find this recipe. My local bakery sells these for an arm and a leg, and my husband loves, loves, loves these. He loves these cookies so much that he came home from work ate four of them and then helped me with laundry- without me even asking him to help. These cookies have special powers!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Dec 2007
Reviewed by: LOOPYSHNOOPIE
Perfect cookies. Very tasty and crispy. Though it should be noted that you must put the pieces about 2 to 2 1/2 inches away from each other, or else they will touch and bind. =)
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Mar 2006
Reviewed by: Spicy Mama
This is exactly the recipe my family has passed down for generations and it can't be beat! The only exception is that we use butter-flavored Crisco in place of the butter and shortening. The rolls of dough can also be frozen and used to make small batches of fresh cookies for your kids after school. This one is a keeper!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Jul 2009
Reviewed by: CARODUN
Delicious cookies! I used only butter. I guess I shaped the roll too thick. The cookies were not crisp in ten minutes, but chewy. I had to bake five times in my oven, because there were so many! The second time I baked, I made them smaller, and now they were crisp, which I like better. Cutting the cookies didn't work for me, so next time I will only cool the dough and roll SMALL balls.(because they spread a lot) Dipping the fork in milk and flatten them, works fine as long as you dip after each flattening. From now on I will only use half or a third of the recipe. * update: I forgot to put the nuts in, and also forgot to dip them with milk, and they were delicious!! My daugther keeps asking for another one..and another...
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Oct 2010
Reviewed by: Jessie
Wonderful recipe to have when you need cookies quickly! I didn't have walnuts on hand so I used pecans. They came out delicious and my husband and toddler did not want to stop eating them! I'm glad I divided the dough into six rolls and froze some of them. I like making my cookies on the smaller side so 1 roll yielded 10 cookies. Even with them smallish, I had to bake them at 10 minutes because I dipped the fork in milk each time I flattened. The cookies were crispy along the edges and a little moist in the center... This oatmeal cookie recipe is a keeper.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Sep 2010
Reviewed by: Linda Reece
These are SO good. I really don't like when people 'change' the original recipe, howww-ever, use whole wheat flour for half of the total amount, a teaspoon of cinnamon and scoop or roll them in one inch balls to bake. So chewy, remind me of the olden days
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Sep 2010
Reviewed by: mindy
This is THE BEST oatmeal cookie recipe! My cookies have always been horrible, but I baked these last week and actually won a blue ribbon at our county fair with them! My family are actually asking me to make more! I chopped up raisins and used them instead of the nuts and they were great!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Jan 2009
Reviewed by: Andre'sfavs
These cookies are the best Oatmeal cookies I've had. But here's the deal, my daughter made this recipe but changed it up a bit. She added 1 cup dark chocolate chips, 1 cup raisons and in place of flour she substituted the flour with 1 1/2 cups almond flour. They're amazing and more healthier on this version.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 May 2010
Reviewed by: Marialucy
In spite of a major "goof-up" these are the best cookies I have ever made. After I baked the first roll, and they melted into one flat cake, I realized I had left out the flour. Senior moment. I crumbled the 2nd roll and added 1/2 the flour measurement in small amounts, kneaded it and baked the most delicious cookies. This is a very forgiving recipe. I did press on top of each cookies, before baking, a few larger pieces of walnut. I think that put it a little over the top. The crispy, flat first batch was crumbled and saved to sprinkle over puddings, cereals, etc.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Jan 2010
Reviewed by: LVBNMOM
These cookies are fantastic! My husband said they were some of the best cookies he has ever had! They had great flavor. It will be exciting to see the reviews (and stars) for this climb away after people try this awesome recipe! I didn't chill the dough or roll it out first, I just dished out by the teaspoon and flattened with a fork dipped in milk. Try this one; you will be glad you did!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes