My Reviews (65)

No-Bake Coconut Macaroons

These are ridiculously easy no-bake macaroons made with oats, cocoa and coconut. Simple and delicious!
Reviews (65)


28 Jul 2002
Reviewed by: TIA GALLANT
These macaroons are amazing! The only change I made was to make the 1/2 cup of shortening into 3/4 cup of margarine. They taste so good my husband can't stay away from them. I will definitely make these again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Feb 2008
Reviewed by: JHannah
The first time I made these macaroons,they were incredibly dry but had an awesome taste. Making these the second time, I followed other reviewers advice and substituted butter for shortening (using 3/4 cup), added 1 cup of coconut and only boiling mixture for 1 minute. These turned ot great!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Jan 2008
Reviewed by: sskeels15
I made a bachelorette's version for the single gal or anyone really with ingredients found more typically in the average kitchen but still needs a quick fix of sugar. I used 3/4 c margaine instead of shortening, quick-cooking oatmeal instead of rolled oats, nestle hot cocoa mix w/ marshmallows instead of unsweetened cocoa, and then subseqeuently reduced sugar (which was just ultra fine, not white) to 1 1/4 c. Turned out great! Oh I also ran out of oatmeal so I threw in Cheerios so it wouldn't be so runny and didn't have any coconut so I didn't use any. :o) Moral: The basic recipe is very good and can be innovated to fit your needs/wants.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Feb 2006
Reviewed by: sudsy
I used 1 cup of coconut and also added 1 teaspoon of vanilla as this is what my mom did when I was a child. They are so gooey good. All those people saying they won't stay together are boiling for too long! Cut back on boiling time and you will LOVE these.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Oct 2003
Reviewed by: Allison
Delicious! I used 3/4 cup margarine instead of shortening and 1/2 cup evap. milk instead of milk. This gave them an extra burst of fudge flavour and were a big hit at work! Thanks.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Feb 2001
Reviewed by: HOPEKEMPE
Overall, the recipe I had been looking for. I increased the margarine/butter though as this recipe does make dry cookies. Increasing the butter/margarine make ooey-gooey good cookies!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 May 2008
Reviewed by: Amanda R
I followed others suggestion and used 3/4 cup butter instead of the shortening and they were delicious! I will definitely make these again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Apr 2008
Reviewed by: Ashley8150
These were great! I read the previous reviews and substituted butter for the shortening. Apparently I did not read enough of the reviews to learn that boiling longer would produce dry cookies - I boiled about 3 minutes and they are a little bit dry. So - BIG POINTER for the next person who makes them - only boil them for 1 minute as previous reviewers have recommended!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Aug 2008
Reviewed by: tatsi-hotsi
I didn't have any coconut,so I added more oats(4 cups),and I didn't have cocoa powder,I used 1/2cup chocolate chips,I added them in hot milk-sugar-butter mixture,so they melted.Added some vanilla.Tastes great.But I think with coconut it's gonna be awesome.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Jun 2007
Reviewed by: Paige
I followed others' recommendations in exchanging shortening for butter and adding 1/4 cup and doubling the coconut. I started eating it right out of the pan while it was still warm! Talk about delicious.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes