My Reviews (398)

Chewy Coconut Chocolate Biscuits

This is my favourite recipe for chewy oatmeal biscuits with chocolate chips, grated coconut and chopped nuts.
Reviews (398)


04 Oct 2014
Reviewed by: TonikaJade
Everybody in my family loved these cookies - and ive tried so many recipes - with this being the only recipe my blended family of 6 all agree are so goood!
 
29 Sep 2012
Reviewed by: goldie007
These cookies were fabulous. I was a bit worried when I was putting them on the pan as I thought they would be pretty runny and flat. The consistency was amazing. I didn't include the pecans because I'm not a fan of nuts in cookies, but I just put a bit more oatmeal. Crispy on the outside, and chewy on the inside, as all cookies should be. Amazing. Will definitely be making these again!
 
02 Jan 2012
Reviewed by: Pandi
Just used this recipe and its wonderful! I don't know why but it was hard to find a good recipe for chewy cookies that call for oats and coconut. I added 4 tablespoons of cocoa, and really creamed the mixture until it resembled frosting before stirring in the chunky ingredients. Makes about 45 cookies.
 
27 Jan 2008
Reviewed by: MYLEEN
This is a thousand dollar recipe, I've been looking for something like this for awhile! However, I did make a few modifications to make it more whole grain and wonderfully delicious. I subbed the 1 3/4 cups of flour with 1 cup whole wheat flour and 3/4 cup oat flour, then cut the 1/2 cup of white sugar to 1/4 cup of white sugar (someone on here thought it was too sweet). I also used only 2.5 cups of rolled oats, as that was all that I had left. Another tip - put your cookie dough in the fridge for 1 hour before you start to bake it and use a small icecream scooper to form the cookies on your cookie sheet. It tasted wonderfully chewy, rich and perfectly sweet. It reminded me of the Double Tree Chocolate Chip cookies they used to give out at their hotel, but better because I used all organic ingredients and absolutely no preservatives. Yummy!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Aug 2007
Reviewed by: Bob K
Greatest cookie recipe ever! I substitute milk chocolate for semi-sweet morsals and use sweetened coconut. Sorry, not a fan of nuts so I leave them out. 12 minutes @ 350 degrees gives them a slightly crispy outside and leaves the inside chewy.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Oct 2007
Reviewed by: Love2Cook
AWESOME cookies. My husband, who likes crispy cookies, and I, who like 'gooey' cookies, both loved these. Great even without nuts. The coconut added great texture without an over-powering flavor.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Jan 2011
These are fantastic cookies. I made 2 slight changes. I sifted the flour/salt/baking soda before adding (using a mesh strainer-easy). Used less sugar to account for sweetened coconut: 1/4 c. white, 1 c. brown sugar. And I ADDED 1 TSP LEMON JUICE so they would be chewy. This gives a nice even texture. You can't taste the lemon at all. These are the best textured oatmeal cookies I've ever had. Crispy on the outside, chewy on the inside.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Apr 2013
Reviewed by: Woody
I am Woody and since I first posted this recipe I have made a few minor changes and would like to share them with you. Here they are: Add 1/2 cup more coconut. Try using pecans, just a better tasting cookie Any flavor chip can be substituted but CHOCOLATE CHUNKS ARE BEST. Tips for a great cookie! In a large bowl, cream together the SOFT butter, brown sugar and white sugar until smooth. Slowly pour/mix in the beaten eggs , milk and vanilla. Combine the flour, baking soda and salt; stir into the sugar mixture until well blended. Stir in oats then chocolate chips then nuts and finally the coconut until all is distributed. Drop by rounded balls onto ungreased cookie sheet....See tip below! *** Bake 12 to 15 minutes on middle rack of oven for a chewy cookie.... See tip below! *** Cool for 1 minute on the cookie sheet and then remove to wire rack. Cool completely and then store in tightly sealed container. *** Use ice cream scoop slightly rounded to make 22-24 cookies. Making 22-24 is important......This will insure they will be nice and thick and stay chewy for days. *** Keep a second cookie pan cooled in the refrigerator and alternate between batches. While cooking first batch, roll all of the remaining balls and keep them chilled as well. This will prevent your cookies from spreading out too much & becoming flat and crispy. Balls can be kept in the fridge for several days to be cooked later. Rolled balls can also be wrapped in plastic and frozen to be later th
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 May 2006
Reviewed by: RouxZQ
Oh YUM! My new favorite cookie. My only changes: only had 3/4 c butter, so I added 1/4 c shortening, I also added another cup of coconut, and used 1 1/2 c of dark chocolate chips instead of semi sweet. My young boys and I prefer dark over semi-sweet, and also added 3/4 tsp of cinnamon. Then I refriderated for 1 hour. These cookies are hard to mix my hand, but my beautiful BOSCH mixer with cookie paddles made lite work of it. The dough was a little hard to make "stick" together. I rolled 1 1/2 inch dough balls and baked at 350 degrees for 11 min. with the first dozen, then 14 min. with the 2nd dozen. My convection oven is right on target with the lower cooking times with most recipes. The first dz was, I thought, a little undercooked, but turned out fine after it cooled completely. The 2nd dz at 14 min. was better though. They made full (not flat) 2 1/2 - 3 inch cookies. They were rich and flavorful. I saved the other half of the dough in the freezer for later. I may actually cut back on the chocolate chips next time, only b/c a 12 oz bag was more than enough, quantity and richness wise. My sons beg to differ, however. Thanks for this great recipe. My search is over!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Jan 2007
Reviewed by: Jessica
I added bits of toffee, best cookies ever!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes