My Reviews (15)

Light Nutmeg Cake

A delicious nutmeg cake, light as a feather and with a beautiful texture. Best when topped with cream cheese icing.
Reviews (15)


13 Dec 2010
Reviewed by: Jillian
OMG! This cake is absolutely delicious, perfectly spiced and has just the right about of sweetness. It's so moist and yes, just as the title states - it's light as a feather! I used butter flavored shortening and instead of all nutmeg I used 1 tsp. of nutmeg and 1/2 tsp. of cinnamon. I made this into a dozen cupcakes using a Texas sized muffin tin. I definitely agree that this is best with a buttercream icing so I chose "Rick's Special Buttercream Frosting" from this site and replaced some of the cream with real maple syrup for a maple buttercream which gave it a light maple flavor. I piped that over top and then sprinkled a little nutmeg over top. These were so good that I'll most certainly be making these again for the holidays!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Oct 2010
Reviewed by: naples34102
As I looked over the recipe I just knew this was going to be good. First, the combination of butter (for flavor) and shortening (because butter cakes can be dry). And then the buttermilk - I don't think I've ever been disappointed with a cake recipe that called for it. As for the nutmeg, it's not that I thought there was anything wrong with using just nutmeg, but I wanted the more balanced flavor of both cinnamon and nutmeg - I used 1 tsp. cinnamon and 1/2 tsp. nutmeg and was happy with that ratio. I baked this as cupcakes, 350 degrees, 18-20 minutes. The title is very appropriate, as these are fluffy and really ARE "light as a feather" - no mistaking this for a pound cake or muffin at all! And just as I had suspected, the shortening and buttermilk did make these moist. I do disagree with the submitter on one point, however. She suggests this is best with a cream cheese frosting and I think that would be too heavy for this cake. I had some of my vanilla buttercream frosting left over so I just gave it a few good shakes of cinnamon, whipped it up again, and used it on these cupcakes. It was perfect! Very nice recipe, and certainly appropriate for this autumn season.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Jan 2007
Reviewed by: JAMJMine
This was very good. I followed the recipe exactly, except I baked it in three 8" round pans, so I cut back on the time. I liked it so much, I made another batch, ending up with 6 cakes. I used the Brown Sugar Cream Cheese Frosting from this site and made three 2-layer cakes. A great way to repay a neighbor I owed a favor, and get some extra babysitting points with my kids' grandparents! And, of course, I kept one for me! Thanks Jayne04!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Nov 2009
Reviewed by: KEZ
Out of necessity, I used all butter and did the vinegar in milk trick for the buttermilk. I baked this in a 10" bundt pan, which made the cooking time 5 to 10 minutes longer. Topped it with a vanilla glaze. The texture is as my husband put it, very fluffy, as he helped himself to a second slice. Thanks for a delicious cake Jayne.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Feb 2008
Reviewed by: Cazuela
This cake has big nutmeg flavor and a nice, rich texture. I made mine in a 9x9 pan so baking time was a bit longer. Lovely as is without icing. Oct 2008 update: made this in a bundt pan then dusted it with confectioners' sugar. Use fresh nutmeg for a great, not-too-sweet coffee break snack.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Feb 2012
Reviewed by: nunya007
This cake was GREAT! I made it exactly as directed except that I used a bundt pan, no icing and I had to make my own buttermilk. So if you don't have buttermilk at home you can still make this recipe. Just put 1 tablespoon of white vinegar in a measuring cup and add milk until you reach the 1 cup mark and let sit for 5min. Really easy cake to make, it was eaten in 1 day.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Dec 2013
Reviewed by: JVDdchef
I made these as cupcakes, and followed the recipe almost exactly as stated except that I used 1 cup of whole wheat flour and 1 cup of all-purpose. They take about 20 minutes instead of 40 as cupcakes. These were for my son's 2nd Birthday party. They were a hit! From my 94 year old grandma to my 15 year old nephew (who had 2 or 3!) The flavor was a nice change from the usual, too-sweet cupcake and they tasted scratch baked, rather than from-the-box. I topped with cream cheese frosting that was store bought because I didn't have time to make any. A really nice recipe: back to basics, nothing flashy or exotic, just plain yummy. Thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Nov 2013
Reviewed by: Molly
This cake is wonderful, light and moist. And, another great recipe that uses buttermilk. I baked it in a 16"x4"x4" long loaf pan. I was looking for a spice cake and this worked perfectly. I frosted with the frosting from 'New Duchess Spice Cake w/ Maple Frosting' from AR. A delicious cake that I will be making again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Oct 2013
Reviewed by: Denise
Delish! This cake came out great! So easy. The changes I made, which were very small, was I used 1 tsp. of cinnamon and 1/2 tsp. nutmeg, as another reviewer suggested, then I added a pinch of cloves and a pinch of ginger just because I love spices. I will be making this again and again! Thanks for the great recipe JANYEO4.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Mar 2012
Reviewed by: MJ
It was quite easy to make i liked it but if u are not used to the spice i recommend to reduce the amount of nutmeg my bf said its ok too
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes