My Reviews (40)

Bacon Wrapped Partridge

This is a Scottish recipe. Partridge breasts are seared in bacon grease then roasted in a simple wine sauce and served with a rich gravy.
Reviews (40)


26 Nov 2008
Reviewed by: Elissa
I made this back in October on a grouse hunting trip. Before cooking the meat I "bled" it overnight to get rid of the game-y taste (refrigerate in salted water overnight). We also got as much meat as possible off the bird, and cut the "dark meat" pieces small, keeping the breasts whole. I sauteed all the meat in the skillet and threw it all into a roasting pan. After it was cooked through I removed the breasts, and put the roaster right onto the stove top to make my gravy in there. I left those little pieces of "dark" meat in the roaster and OMG did it ever make the gravy nice. I can't wait to make this again. To Terri: dry partridge is almost inevitable. It doesn't take very long to cook and even slight overcooking dries it out. Baste frequently while it roasts and try not to overcook. I cook it till it's so close to done it might as well be, take it out of the oven and let it rest, tented, in a warm spot. The temp will continue to rise which should get it just right. Use chicken temp guidelines. Good luck
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Jun 2006
Reviewed by: Flyrod
Very good recipe, can also be made in the slow cooker but with the bacon almost fully cooked before added.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Nov 2005
Reviewed by: TiffanyB
Wonderful recipe. I've had trouble finding recipes for partridge, but now I need not look any further. The only problem is that the directions do not specify what to do with the garlic. I sauted it with the bacon (add garlic about half way through bacon cooking process so that it doesn't burn).
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Oct 2009
Reviewed by: Mainiac
After cooking the grouse with this recipe, I believe this is the ONLY way to cook the bird. I used a 8" casserole dish instead of shallower baking dish to house the sauce and the breasts (this somewhat poaches the meat, so you don't have to baste the meat while cooking). I also reduced the cooking time to 35 minutes and the meat came out perfectly moist. Parsley is a good addition to the sauce and for plating on top of each breast.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Sep 2009
Reviewed by: Lori Anne Brinkworth
Real Good, I added to the baking dish some large brown mushrooms, i just cut them in half and let them bake with the partrige. When cooking was done I removed the birds and the mushrooms then made the gravy, Served with a mashed potato, Real good dinner!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Oct 2010
Reviewed by: LortsLoki
Super Good!!! Love the gravy. The only thing I did different was use green onion because I had no shallot,and added more garlic (WE LOVE GARLIC).My guy wil eat this again!! Thank You for your reciepe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Dec 2008
Reviewed by: Can_It_Rachael
This was really tasty. My hubby is a partidge hunter and taxidermist so we ALWAYS have birds in the freezer and I was at a loss for new recipes that kept the meat moist. This recipe is a keeper.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Oct 2008
Reviewed by: Terri
Thought this was a pretty good recipe. I'm just starting to cook partridge. Thought my partridge was a little dry. Any suggestions? But the gravy was good, i added a little cream to the gravy, made rice and served the gravy over the bird and rice, it was very good.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Nov 2007
Reviewed by: chicgeek
this was an excellent recipe! The partridge was so moist and had a wonderful taste. The recipe does not specify what to do with the gatlic; I added it to the wine/broth....mmmmmm.... gravy was delicious too!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Nov 2010
Reviewed by: Brian Doyle
I hate to put a bad review on this because everyone else was so positive but my dish came out very dry. 2 mins per side to sear the meat seemed way to long to me but I did it anyway. Also there is just so much grease in this dish that it seems like too much. I think next time I will try a crock pot recipe. If you end up making this then I hope it turns out better for you.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes