My Reviews (11)

Vinegar BBQ Sauce

This is an amazing barbecue sauce, tangy and thin with no tomato. The quantities makes a lot so share it with your friends!
Reviews (11)


06 Mar 2010
Reviewed by: ClaudiaMagda
I really liked this recipe. The only thing I did differently, was I halved the amount of cayenne and black pepper it called for and added 2/3 cup of brown sugar (made the recipe based on 10 servings). I slow cooked a 5lb. pork butt roast, added the sauce it was delicious. Next time I make this sauce I'll use 3/4 of the cayenne and pepper it calls for. I like it hot!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Apr 2010
Reviewed by: Anna Bushka
This sauce was not nearly as potent on the meat as it was when I tested it by itself before I served it. My kids gobbled it up, they loved it, although I did reduce the cayenne pepper a bit. My favorite part was the way it made the pork chops taste less "porky". =)
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Nov 2009
Reviewed by: SheehanLV@comcast.net
A very good and easy recipe. Delicious, with one point off for the heat. I could only drizzle a tiny bit on my pork or my lips would burn. I love spicy foods and make a homemade ramen soup that'll give you palpitations, but this was INTENSE! I'll absolutely make it again, but I'll cut way down on the cayenne next time.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Oct 2009
Reviewed by: Elaine Mical
Tangy with lots of heat...perfect for pulled pork topped with cole slaw
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Oct 2009
Reviewed by: recipehound
My husband used to hate BBQ until he tried this! We love the recipe! First, I cooked pork in slow cooker. Scaled back the # of servings of BBQ sauce to 4 and that made @ 1.25 cups. I substituted fresh lemon thyme for lemon juice- worked great. I used less cayenne and substituted hot sauce and red pepper flakes to taste.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Oct 2009
Reviewed by: rjnicholson
I loved this although it is way too spicy for my husband. Next time I will make 2 batches - one for me per the recipe and one for him with the spices adjusted. Thank you for posting!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Nov 2015
Reviewed by: Soup Loving Nicole
Holy WOW this is HOT! The flavor is good but I would scale way back on the cayenne and black pepper if I were you. You can always add more heat but you cannot take it back.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Oct 2014
Reviewed by: Shawn Ray Stanley
Best barbecue there is
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Jul 2013
Reviewed by: Amy Patterson
A wonderful reminder of BBQ from home in NC. Thanks for reminding me what BBQ is supposed to taste like.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Jun 2016
Reviewed by: abmalish
Just made this a while ago, the briquette is still on the grill so I don't know how its going to be on the meat but out of the pot, it is first rate. The only thing I changed was that I didn't use any Cayenne, it is spicy enough for me with out it. This sauce reminds me of the BBQ we used to get in Cherry Point, NC when I was in the Marine Corps.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes