My Reviews (22)

Crispy Cherry and Chocolate Bars

These are beautiful chocolate, coconut and cherry bars with the colours of Christmas. They are a little crispier than other bars.
Reviews (22)


03 Dec 2000
Reviewed by: pamjlee
This is a very easy recipe. I rolled them in small balls rather than dropping them. I used red and green cherries combined and it gives it a nice festive colour. This cookie is a bit pale and you may want to dip the top in coloured sugar before baking to add extra colour. It took the full 15 minutes in my oven. Will make again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Jan 2013
Reviewed by: DrCox
Thank you for posting this recipe. I modified it by using maraschino cherries. It gave them a little bit of a pink tinge but they were still awesome!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: mykidsmom
YUM, these are so good, the only change i made was i use half reg. chocolate chips, and half white chocolate chips. at first hubby and my oldest daughter were complaining they were not going to like them, hubby says he does not like coconut, and oldest daughter says she does not like cherries, well let me tell you they both loved these, so much so that when i woke up this am, they were all gone. they were up watching a movie late and ate every crum. thank you for a great recipe, i will be making these often, and i will be sure to hide some so i can eat more too.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Jan 2003
Reviewed by: BONLIV
These were delicious but I did not like their appearance, they seemed flat & flimsy, and fell apart easily. Maybe I will try to roll them into balls as someone else did.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Dec 2015
Reviewed by: Sue
These are like eating a chocolate covered cherry in cookie form! So delicious!! If you are getting flat cookies it might be because you are using maraschino cherries instead of candied cherries (they are much "wetter", so will thin your batter out even if you drain them first). I like using maraschino cherries, so I cut them up, squeeze the extra juice out in a paper towel, then up the flour by 2 Tablespoons and my cookies come out perfectly.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Dec 2010
Reviewed by: Michelle Roth-Kiva
Oh yummy! I chose these for my annual cookie exchange. The ingredients are totally holiday appropriate (I used red / green candied cherries for added color)! I must admit... I read Theresa's recipe incorrectly.... I thought the yield was 18 cookies! It was not until I started spooning the dough onto my cookie sheet that I realized this made 3.5 dozen (ikes!)!!! I am really glad I have so many cookies though. These are DEEELICIOUS and rich - their small size is perfect for this very reason. These and a cold glass of milk would be a great gift for "Santa" lol! I can't wait to share my "treasures" with my train buddies and co-workers (and my hubby's co-workers too!). NOTE: My cookies baked perfectly in 13.5 - 14 minutes (just be sure to allow to rest BEFORE transferring to wire racks to finish cooling). These will most definitely become part of my yearly holiday rotation and are definitely a GREAT find on here. Thanks SO much for sharing, Theresa! :-)
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Dec 2008
Reviewed by: MandyMooMoo
Great Recipe. Followed other advice, rolled the cookies into balls to keep their shape better. I like chocolate, so I didn't reduce them. If you don't enjoy choc. chip cookies, them I would reduce by at least 1/4 cup.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 May 2011
Reviewed by: Jackie C
Made these today hoping to use up the last of some candied cherries I had left over. I made a batch and a half which called for 1 1/2 eggs...well, since I didn't want to use only half an egg I used two, but I probably should have only used one, my batter was a bit thin and spread out way too much when baking. The cookies tase good so I may need to try again next time I need to use candied cherries for something.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Nov 2009
Reviewed by: PenguinSAW
This recipe was great! Just the thing I needed to get rid of the candied cherries in my cupboard. The only things I changed in this recipe was that I added 1/2 c. finely chopped pecans and 1/4 c. more flour to the mix and rolled them into balls like others have suggested. They were so cute and tasty I decided to include them in my cookie gift boxes instead of leaving them out for my siblings. I will DEFINITELY make this cookie again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Feb 2009
Reviewed by: childoflite
I made this recipe in GIGANTIC volumes this past Christmas - probably made a double or triple batch 3 times for gifts for family and friends, as well as for my hubby and I The changes I made were to add extra chocolate chips, half the coconut, and extra mixed candied fruit on top of the cherries - finishing touch was to add 1 (or 2, depending on the size of batch) bottle of red food colouring to make them reddish for Christmas. These are the most delectable cookies EVER!!! Every person I gave them to, and my hubby's colleagues at work were raving about them! In a nutshell, these are like cherry cordials and chocolate chip cookies all rolled into one!!! You MUST make this for the holidays - you won't be disappointed!!! :D :D
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes