My Reviews (53)

Whole Pineapple Ham

This is a great recipe if you can find a whole ham which has been spiral cut. It's not super salty and the flavours are fantastic.
Reviews (53)


25 Mar 2008
Reviewed by: ValerieB333
I tasted the ham before cooking and this recipe really did cut the saltiness. I will drain the pineapple in a sieve for 30 minutes or so next time as merely draining in the can leaves too much leftover juice making the pineapple hard to work with and adding too much liquid to bottom of roaster. Otherwise very good and not too sweet at all. note to self: Cooked 8.5 lb ham at 325 (same temp and time as potatoes) for a little over 2 hours. Took foil off after first hour and basted occasionally. Easter 2008 - Served with Scalloped Potatoes and Onions and Gulliver's Creamed Corn, both from here. Also served fresh asparagus, mashed sweet potato and pear, and creamy coleslaw. Everything worked very well together.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Dec 2007
Reviewed by: Susie Littlewood
I always say I don't really care for ham and I've never actually made a decent ham in my life. This recipe changed that! My kids requested ham for Christmas dinner - and this was fantastic. The first time I basted it was sorta yucky, the milk had started to curdle, the second time the ham juices had taken over and it was much better. Just a word to the wise, don't expect the juices to be able to be thickened into any kind of sauce or glaze.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Apr 2006
Reviewed by: FBS
This was by far the best ham I have served! I did not follow to letter but should have, ie added too much milk did not drain pineapple, BUT results were fantastic. A keeper.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Jan 2007
Reviewed by: cher
Wow so delicious! My husband says it is the best ham ever and the next day he fixed it with scrambled eggs and said it was even better the second day. It really does NOT taste salty which has always kept me away from ham. Not this one I loved it!! Very easy to prepare. All of my guests asked for this recipe!! Texas Caviar Seven Layer Salad great sides too!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Dec 2007
Reviewed by: KrisKoe
I am giving this recipe only 4 stars because I didn't follow it exactly. I only added 1 c. milk, there was 1/4 in. in bottom of pan. I used about 1/4 lb. of brown sugar, it wasn't sticking to the ham very well. And I used 1 can of pineapple, which covered the ham very well. I also patted on a little more brown sugar on top of the pineapple. It turned out DELICIOUS!! The taste was perfect!! Definitely not too salty. Everybody loved it, especially my friend who is on a low sodium diet! I will absolutely make this again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Dec 2008
Reviewed by: Terry
Made this for Christmas 2008. Did as the recipe said as far as preparing and refrigerating overnight. Had a 12 lb. ham & put it in a Reynolds oven bag. Drained off most of the milk prior to baking for approx. 2-1/2 hrs.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Feb 2007
Reviewed by: Anna K. Crossley
This came out pretty good, definitely took away a lot of the saltiness considering I used a pre-cooked smoked ham and they are always really salty. I did use a little too much milk and I had a hard time gettng the brown sugar to stay on. Would like to try it again with a bigger ham, since I just used a small one. Is very nice the next day in a sandwich and I have frozen my leftovers for soup. Didn't amke me love ham, but I do like it a lot better done this way, not so spongy and salty.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Dec 2011
Reviewed by: SLDROE
I actually combined this with the 'Coke' recipe and got great results. Instead of the milk, I scored the ham and poured 1 12oz can of Pepsi Throwback (real sugar) all over the ham. I was prepared to use more, but that was all the 9x13 could safely hold. From there I followed the recipe by packing on the brown sugar (I used dark for more molasses flavor), and then the crushed pineapple. I used a 10lb ham, and it could really only hold 2 cans of the pineapple. I put the foil on so as to help keep the 'coatings', and even secured it with a few toothpicks. I let it sit overnight as directed. The next day I put the foil-covered ham in the oven @350F for 30min, but realized that people weren't going to want to eat in the next 30 min. So, I reduced the time to 275F and baked it for 4 to 4 1/2 more hours, basting with the juices every 100 min. or so (that's as high as my timer would go!) I checked it with the meat thermometer to be sure, and it was good to go. I was worried it might be too sweet, but it was great (and I don't particularly care for ham). We cut it a little on the thick side, like a ham steak, and you didn't even need a knife. My husband and dad loved it!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Dec 2006
Reviewed by: Brittany Williams
Very good ham! I cant wait to make it again at Chrsitmas.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Feb 2007
Reviewed by: SCHOI
My husband and I loved this ham. I was worried it might be too sweet but it was just perfect.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes