My Reviews (80)

Easy No Bake Lemon Cheesecake

This is a deliciously light and fluffy cheesecake with no eggs and no baking! It has a tart lemony taste.
Reviews (80)


10 Feb 2008
Reviewed by: liesh
I HAVE THE ANSWER!!! For those of you who couldn't get the chilled regular (not low fat or fat free milk)evaporated milk to form stiff peaks. Mix the milk with your cold beaters. Do not whip up the cream cheese mix first. The cream cheese leaves a residue on the beaters that prevents the milk from forming stiff peaks. Besides the cream cheese mix works just fine with a spoon or wire whisk. Peaks should take no longer than 2 or 3 min on high speed beaters, at the most. If you touch the surface with your finger or a spoon and when you pull away it forms a peak...voila you are done. It's not rocket science people, and the finished product is ab fab. For those of you looking for an easy way to soften your cream cheese....while it is still in the foil package...place it on the burner on the stove top that your oven vents through. While your crust is baking the cream cheese is now soft and creamy enough to not need beaters.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Aug 2010
Reviewed by: Renee
I've made this for years, as has my mother... but we dont use confectioners sugar, vanilla, lemon jello or water. We use vanilla instant pudding, lemonade concentrate and that's it. I found the actually "jello" or any made with gelatin has a "jello" consistency which is NOT what I want when I have creamy cheesecake.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Jul 2011
Reviewed by: lake
Excellent! Made this for my husband's birthday (he loves lemon) and will definitely make it again. It was a big hit with the family. Very light and not too sweet or rich. I also added lemon juice and served it with blueberry compote on top.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Jul 2010
Reviewed by: Sandy-san
One of my favorite memories from my past - an easy and light Grandma recipe! Two things that I do that are different from this recipe: 1) I never bake the crust (I reserve a small portion to sprinkle on top of the recipe before it goes into the fridge to cool 2) 3 tbls of lemon juice to the jello My evaporated milk always comes up nice and thick when I refrigerate the can and bowl. It's a hit wherever I take it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Feb 2003
Reviewed by: RHNSC0
If you want to use this recipe, try swapping out cool whip for the evaporated milk. I could not get the evaporated milk to get firm enough to peak. So, I used the cool whip instead, and it worked just fine.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Dec 2011
Reviewed by: blueplate
This is a wonderful easy and quick cake to make. My family loved it. As per reviews, I chilled the ideal milk overnight/one hour in the freezer will also do! Also, I substituted the vanilla extract for 1/2 cup of lime juice. Delicious... Thanks for sharing!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Apr 2011
Reviewed by: e-giggle
Whipping the evap. milk was very easy! Would try this with other flavours of gelatin as well.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Apr 2010
Reviewed by: CLEMENTINE
I made this cheesecake for Easter in a springform pan. Three cups of graham crackers is WAY TOO MUCH. I would maybe use one cup next time. I ended up throwing lots of crumbs away or the crust would have been an inch thick. Also, I had trouble determining when the jello was thick, but not set. It seemed to go from liquid to set in a hurry so I ended up adding set jello to the mix and then beating with a mixer to blend it in. Despite it all, it tasted good, but I won't make this again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Oct 2005
Reviewed by: midnightdawn081280
I just made this tonight, and it turned out great. You definately have to chill the evaporated milk in the can, as well as the bowl and beaters, but I got stiff peaks after about 5 minutes. I didn't have any lemon jello so I used strawberry. It is really yummy. I also used a chocolate cookie crust. It isn't really a cheesecake, but it is a wonderful light and fluffy dessert. Will definately make again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Sep 2013
Reviewed by: EILISH40
Have made this recipe (and similar) many times but always cut back on sugar because it really is not needed. ALSO RECIPE SHOULD HAVE STATED THAT EVAPORATED MILK HAS TO BE WELL CHILLED IN A BOWL AND ALSO THE BEATERS, can understand why some people could not get it to whip. Also better to use a stainless (or such)bowl because sometimes plastic has a greasy layer on it....this also goes for whpping crea. 2 tbsp. of lemon juice are a great addition. If you follow the above tips you should have absolutely no trouble with this little pie which is great for beginners.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes