My Reviews (80)

Easy No Bake Lemon Cheesecake

This is a deliciously light and fluffy cheesecake with no eggs and no baking! It has a tart lemony taste.
Reviews (80)


05 Apr 2002
Reviewed by: TREADE
I grew up on a recipe very similar to this, and when I tried it - what memories! I did add 2 T. fresh squeezed lemon juice to the gelatin mix before it thickened. This is a recipe that I used to make as a kid. It's easy with a few tricks. To get the canned milk to whip up beautifully, put in the freezer until it's as cold as it can get before freezing. When it's cold you can shake the can and the milk inside will quickly froth up enough to stop sloshing. Use high speed with a good mixer, metal bowl that is previously chilled and a whisk attachment. I cheat and use a chilled plastic bowl and get soft foam that works well. But I used to get stiff peaks when I had a metal bowl. Be sure your canned milk isn't low fat. After beating the cream cheese mixture, throughly mix in the luke-warm to tepid gelatin mixture. THEN fold that into the whipped milk. I'm glad to find this recipe again. It's as good as I remember. My husband and son now love it, too.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Nov 2003
Reviewed by: MCBASKETS
I have been making this recipe for 30 years. I also add 2 TBSP of fresh lemon juice to the gelatin and hot water. I use a 13oz can of evaporated milk insread of 5oz. I put the evaporated milk into the refrigerator for a couple of hours before making the recipe. I also chill my bowl and beaters in the freezer. I always have stiff peaks. I gently fold the lemon and cream cheese mixture into the stiff evaporated milk. I put mine in a 9 x13 pan. I leave it in the frig overnight. I serve it in squares topped with extra grahmn cracker crumbs and topped with whip cream and a cherry.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Feb 2006
Reviewed by: rexmom
This was fabulous! After reading others' comments, I chilled the milk in the fridge for several hours, and the bowl and beaters for about 20 minutes, and used (accidentally) a 12 oz. can of evap. milk. My milk beat up to stiff peaks in a minute or two. I also used strawberry instead of lemon, and served with a few mashed strawberries on top. YUM, and so easy!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Mar 2004
Reviewed by: mcatherwood
This recipe is very good, and unbelievably easy to make! I used 5 ounces of fresh whipping cream (35% MF) instead of the evaporated milk, because I couldn't imagine that it would be easy to get firm peaks with the evaporated milk and because of the other reviewer's warnings (Thank you!) I also added the juice from half a lemon for extra flavour, and used light cream cheese. It turned out great (especially for the small amount of effort needed!) Thanks Jan!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Jun 2001
Reviewed by: Pat
I never bake but I tried this for my co-workers and they all loved it. No the evaporated milk never got stiff but it still set well and tasted like it said it would, tart and light.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Oct 2000
Reviewed by: S2BR1
This one sounded soooo good. What a disappointment! First, how long does it take to beat evaporated milk until stiff peaks form. I chilled it, I whipped it, I chilled it some more. It did get sort of frothy. This was a crumby recipe. It jiggled like jello, tasted ok but don't waste your time! I had to quick make another dessert for my guests. The crust was great though and I will use the powdered sugar again when making graham cracker crusts.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Jun 2006
Reviewed by: Paula Mathers
i made this for my dad and his girlfriend for looking after my daughter for a few days. he said it was fantastic and said i can make it any time for him. my dads quite picky with sweet things! i read the reviews and made a couple of changes based on others' suggestions though. i used heavy cream rather than evaporated milk as i was worried about it not peaking, you cant buy lemon gelatine in the uk so i used leaf gelatine and jif lemon (fresh squeezed bottled lemon). also you cant buy graham crackers here so i used swetmeal digestive biscuits which are pretty much the same thing. it set straight away and impressed greatly. my dad said it tasted better than the one in the shops!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Feb 2006
Reviewed by: Gord
I had been looking for this recipe for a very long time, it reminds me of my mothers from about 40 years ago... Fantastic and a hit with my wife and our guests!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Nov 2005
Reviewed by: MIKKI30
This recipe was awesome!!! The only thing I did different is I added 3 tsps. of pure lemon juice to the recipe and that kicked it off!!!!!!!!! My cheesecakes were the first things to go from the table on Thanksgiving
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Feb 2003
Reviewed by: LOLOS
This recipe was good, but I could not get the evaporated milk thick or in "stiff peaks"! What I did instead was to add an egg to the cream cheese mixture and mixed well, poured into the crust and refrigerated for about 3-4 hours. It turned out great......forget that evaporated milk thing!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes