My Reviews (17)

Corn and Macaroni Salad

Everyone loves a macaroni salad at a barbecue or picnic, but this one is special. I have made a few adjustments to an old standard to jazz it up a bit. The corn is the key.
Reviews (17)


27 Feb 2000
Reviewed by: RaeMama71
"This is the best macaroni salad I've ever tasted." I heard this statement from several people at my husband's BBQ Birthday Party. My father, a macaroni salad connoisseur, could not get enough of it. Yes, the corn is the key, but also the pickle juice really gives it a nice kick. I'd recommend this recipe for any casual party or get-together.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: Anne
Reviewer asking reference for "creamy salad dressing" - the original post of this recipe named brand "Miracle Whip" as the creamy salad dressing.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Jul 2004
Reviewed by: minersgem
I know... I hate it when people tweek recipes... what's the point... however I loved this recipe base... it is perfect and everyone always asks for the recipes at parties. I do not care for celery... so I omitted that. Corn would probably be good in it... but I am used to it the old fashioned way... so I skipped the corn. I do not care for onion pieces in salads so i substituted onion powder like I always do. I don't measure out the paprika, I just sprinkle across the top after it's made to give it color and flavor. Awesome recipe, it's the only macaroni salad recipe ever use. This does make tons, just the right size for a party, otherwise cut recipe in half.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Dec 2004
Reviewed by: Joy Barnes Masters
I made this for my husband and his work potluck yesterday. It got rave reviews. The only thing I changed was to add a few sweet pickles, chopped up into it. I will definitely make this one again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 May 2005
Reviewed by: BARNKITTY
Refreshing! Had to make some minor adjustments to use what I had on hand. Only 2 eggs (I think more would be better), celery seed (no celery), onions and chives (no green onion), red wine vinegar (no pickle juice). Doh, forgot the paprika! But it still got a great response, despite the tweaking.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Aug 2005
Reviewed by: Erimess
It was just a macaroni salad - don't see what was extraordinary about it. The corn may "be the key" but I hardly noticed it being there. Made as is, except I used regular onion since I didn't have green onions, and only had dill pickles so used that juice (which didn't do anything for tanging it up). NOTE: I made this again and am upping it to a 4. I guess I thought better of it second time around. I didn't note that I wasn't sure what "creamy salad dressing" was, and the first time I used Marzetti's and second time Miracle Whip, and I had the green onion this time. I really love Marzetti's, so I'm going to assume I was just more in the mood for this this time. (Though I still didn't notice the corn.)
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Jun 2005
Reviewed by: SEE NU
This is my new fav.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Apr 2000
Reviewed by: JILLC
This was ok, but i didn't think it was great. Although my two year old really liked it!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Nov 2004
Reviewed by: SLMStacy
This is a great recipe! When I made it, I used a tri-colored, multi-shape pasta. Thanks for sharing this recipe! :o)
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Sep 2004
Reviewed by: Beth Stone Strachan
We really liked this salad. I had to make a few adjustments due to what I had on hand...no celery, no corn, red instead of green onions, and added some celery seed. We'll try it again according to Nell's formula. Great base recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes