My Reviews (195)

Tomato Spaghetti Sauce

This recipe is a great basis for all kinds of more complex pasta sauces (such as with meatballs) but it is also amazing on its own. This is my Sicilian great-grandmother's recipe.
Reviews (195)


09 Jan 2006
Reviewed by: Laura M.
I made this last night. I came home tired and cranky and figured I'd just cook some noodles and open a jar of sauce. I had my ground beef cooking away when I discovered that I was out of jarred sauce. So, I tried this recipe and it was fantastic. I didn't have any red wine vinegar, but red wine worked great. I also added about a cup of grated parmesan to thicken it a bit (I like my sauce to be very thick) and give it some extra flavor. This was so much better than the junk in the jar that I'll definitely stop gettting the stuff in the jar and making this instead.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Feb 2004
Reviewed by: LAURA42
After reading the other reviews, I made the following changes: 1 TBS of vinegar instead of 2, plus I sauteed an onion with the garlic first, plus I added 2 tsp of basil. And it was GREAT! Today I made it for the second time, this time in the crockpot. I put three (frozen) boneless skinless chicken breasts in the bottom of the crockpot, then added all the rest of the ingredients (with the changes I mentioned above). I cooked it on LOW for 6 hours -- and when it was almost done, I opened the lid, and shredded the chicken with two forks. It was sooo good! My family (small kids, and husband) ate it over spaghetti, and I'll admit I ate it plain!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Sep 2009
Reviewed by: Jillian
This is a very rich and thick sauce. So good and so easy to make. I sauteed a chopped onion in some olive oil and garlic first. Then I added the crushed tomatoes, one 8 oz. can of tomato sauce and two 6 oz. cans of tomato paste. I also added 1/2 tsp. of salt, 2 Tbsp. of sugar, 1/2 c. of dry red wine vs. vinegar, 1 Tbsp. each of oregano and basil vs. 1 tsp., 1/4 tsp. of crushed red pepper, and 2 bay leaves. I let that simmer for 2 hours on low then removed the bay leaves and added 1/4 c. of shredded parmesan cheese, let that melt and then added some meatballs to let them heat through.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Aug 2011
Reviewed by: Karen Coyne Downes
This sauce is perfect the way it is! Why do people insist on changing everything? Not only that, then they rate it. Hello- you're rating your own recipe because you've changed the ingredients! Rate the recipe as written. If you make changes submit it as a different recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Jan 2006
Reviewed by: norahk
This sauce is delicious. I made it because it seemed so easy, but the taste was wonderful. Better than I ever thought.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 May 2008
Reviewed by: ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
This was rich and thick and turned out fabulous! I'd never have believed it just by reading the ingredients. This is very tomatoey tasting, a rich cooked flavor. Not spicy, but wow, very flavorful! We all agreed this was a keeper. I loved the "not chunky" part. I cooked this about 3 hours and then simmered some meatballs in this the last hour and it was definitely 5 star worthy.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 May 2002
Reviewed by: DEEDELPS
just made this recipe and found it to be very tasty with the following little changes. 1 tablespoon red wine vinegar instead of 2, sauted onion and garlic then added losts more dried minced garlic as it was cooking along with some Italian seasoning (just for my taste).
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Feb 2006
Reviewed by: FISHERX4
nice basic sauce. Sauteed some sweet/hot sausage, onion, fresh squash/zuccini, and extra garlic on side and threw in with sauce. Also added more spices as it cooked. Plus kicked in more red pepper and a tad more sugar. I let it simmer for about 2-1/2 hours. I also threw in some fresh parm. cheese towards the end. Would definitely use the basic sauce again, can modify to your taste and is simple to cook.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Jan 2003
Reviewed by: SURFWENCH
good basic marinara, quick, low in calories, fat-free. I substituted canned diced tomatoes in their juice for the tomato sauce, and 1/2 cup red wine for the vinegar. Simmer for at least half an hour to blend flavors.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Sep 2005
Reviewed by: BEATRIZ1
Thanks for sharing this recipe. I use it over pasta, Italian meatballs, chicken parmesan, lasagna, and pizza. It's got the foundation of a classic sauce, and it doesn't need much of anything else.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes