My Reviews (219)

Almond Custard Bars

These bars have three layers so they look like a lot of work but they're really not. They are simple to make and are a fantastic dessert for people with a sweet tooth!
Reviews (219)


04 Sep 2011
Reviewed by: footballgrl16
I thought these were pretty good, although a bit on the sweet side for my taste. I halved the crust/bottom part, like others suggested, and would not do that again. I would def temper the egg with some of the batter before adding it to the hot mix. I also sub. vanilla pudding for the custard powder and it was pretty good; I did only use 3 T of butter instead of the whole stick. Make sure and use BUTTER or OIL when you melt the chips, not margarine, as it will seize the chocolate. If you score the bar after it has slightly hardened, it makes them much easier to cut.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Aug 2002
Reviewed by: AMYLL
This was really great! My family ate the whole pan in one day. A really good naniamo bar recipe like this is hard to find...and I'm from B.C. Thanks, this one is a keeper!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Oct 2010
Reviewed by: Lisa D
Wow, very sweet and I have a huge sweet tooth! I cut out one cup of confectioners sugar too! However, they are unusually addicting! I would say cut them very small...I got 25 out of my 8x8 pan. I also couldn't find custard powder so had to resort to instant pudding. I am not sure if that affected the sweetness (since I don't know how sweet custard powder is). Either way, if I find custard powder, I'll definitely try these again. They were a great project for my 9 yr old son and I as we ended our study of Canada!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Aug 2010
Reviewed by: gshepherd
These were a special treat and unusual in their own way. The reviews about whisking the chocolate into the egg slowly before adding it back to the heated chocolate were very helpful. I used a sauce pan on low-simmer for the first layer rather than a double-boiler...1/2 cup butter in first layer to mix graham cracker crumbs and 1/3 cup butter in the second layer to cream the confectioner's sugar and doubled the ingredients in the third layer. Thanks for the recipe!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Mar 2004
Reviewed by: GRINLING
My husbands exact words were 'these are the best Naniamo bars I have ever had', and I agree. They are not sicky-sweet like most I have had, but just right. I grew up with Naniamo bars, and I have to say, these are better than my moms... sorry mom!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Sep 2011
Reviewed by: BrinaZ
Overall, the final product was very good, but I have a few recommendations... 1. Use a 7" x 11" cake pan, which will make the bars slightly thinner. 2. Use less cocoa powder in the bottom layer, 3-4 tablespoons at most. I followed the recipe, using 5 tbs, and I thought it drowned out the coconut flavor. 3. Grind up the nuts and coconut into very small pieces - in a food processor - for the bottom layer. This will help you press the bottom layer into a nice flat layer, so the next two layers also spread easily. 4. Add 2 tablespoons of milk or cream to the chocolate in the top layer, to make it a little easier to spread and cut once it's refrigerated.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Mar 2009
Reviewed by: BABY
THIS IS SOOOOOOOOOOO GOOD!!!! I MADE SOME CHANGES AND ADDED SOME PEANUTBUTTER AND (1/2 CUP) AND INSTEAD OF CUSTARD I USED CHOCOLATE PUDDING MIX ( 2TPBS). WOW!! SO GOOD. I LOVE PEANUTBUTTER AND CHOCOLATE. THIS IS REALLY EXCELLENT!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Oct 2011
Reviewed by: Allison
So these should come with a warning...Danger of Eating Entire Pan and Gaining 5 Pounds. I have reviewed close to 175 recipes on this site over the last 10 years and this is my favourite recipe ever!!! Unfortunately I make it far too often and it is my demise! Awesome, decadent, heavenly...there are not enough words to describe. I have an addiction to these :D
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Feb 2012
Reviewed by: HOLLYBOP
I can see how these would be a 4-star treat if they held sentimental value for somebody who grew up eating them. As somebody who had never heard of a nanaimo bar, I just saw the great reviews and thought they looked good. They were kind of a let-down, I must say. With all the different flavors nothing really stood out...I could barely taste the chocolate in the crust even though I am picky and buy a very expensive and high-quality cocoa powder. The crust is somewhat dry and slightly resembles american "no bake" cookies. the topping is akin to american buttercream topped with ganache. Can't go wrong with ganache, but I wish I had just made brownies instead! The best part about them was they looked pretty- I piped the chocolate on top in zig-zags and cut them with a warm hot knife and they looked much better than they tasted!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Mar 2015
Reviewed by: Susan Drago
I have used this recipe several times, and I've found that the butter in the bottom layer can be reduced to 6 tablespoons without altering the flavor at all. Makes them less greasy and less fattening. I have also used a quarter cup of butter plus a quarter cup of cream cheese in the filling. Another way to reduce calories.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes