My Reviews (35)

Apple Sauce and Walnut Cake

Apple sauce makes for a deliciously moist and fruity cake. I love walnuts and raisins, but if you prefer you could substitute some other kind of nut such as chopped almonds.
Reviews (35)


12 Oct 2006
Reviewed by: CNADAHL
Love the cake. I didn't make it with rasins or walnuts cause I didn't have any and instead of 1/2 cup shortening I used 1/2 cup vegetable oil. Didn't frost it at all. The cake turned out moist the way I like it and my husband said it was very good also. We have a few apple trees and I make homemade applesauce often and used that. I might add homemade apple butter with the applesauce sometime.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Oct 2005
Reviewed by: MADYSMA
This recipe was a hit with my family. I served it to dinner guests and had to give out the recipe because they loved it so much. I changed a few things because I didn't have everything listed. I upped the cinn. to 1 tsp. and omitted the cloves, allspice, walnuts and raisins. I also added 2 eggs instead of one and used cinn. applesause because that's all I had on hand. I added about 4 fresh cubed macintosh apples and I didn't have the ingredients for the frosting so I coated the top with confectionary sugar. It was a big hit!!! I am making another one today and I am planning on using the frosting this time. Thanks for the great recipe!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 May 2000
Reviewed by: MERRITT
My boyfriends family love Applesauce Cake and, when I made this recipe they fell in love with it. Said it was one of the best that they ever had!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Nov 2008
Reviewed by: j.colton cooper
added 1 chopped granny smith apple,instead of all raisins i used 1/2 craisins,1/2 raisins. this cake is a *****
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Sep 2010
Reviewed by: luv2bake
Luv the recipe:-) The cake is moist and yummy delicious! Even my husband, who usually doesn't like fruit type cakes, liked it. I opted to omit raisins & walnuts. I used two eggs instead of one, used onl 1/4 tsp of cloves & more cinnamon. Also added 1/4 cup dark brown sugar. I topped the cake with a glaze made of confectionary sugar & orange juice. Absolutley delicious!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Nov 2008
Reviewed by: Angela Stelle
I give this 4 stars because I made some changes to the recipe. I used whole wheat flour instead of all-purpose and butter instead of shortening (just my preference). I did not add nuts and raisins and I used store-bought white frosting. This was a delicious spiced cake - a big hit with the husband and 2-year-old!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Nov 2010
Reviewed by: LemonLush
I decided to make this cake because it most closely matched the type of cake I wanted. I did make some changes which are significant and in my opinion, enhanced the flavor. I used two eggs, substituted milk for water and butter for shortening. I also used a tsp of vanilla. I did add a tsp more of cinnamon and didn't have either cloves or allspice, so I used 1 tsp of apple pie seasoning - delish! I also left out the raisins and nuts and substitued about 1.5 cups of finely diced Macintosh apples. I dusted the top with powdered sugar and it was just perfect - without frosting. Excellent basic cake recipe! Thanks so much for sharing - it was very close to the cake I had recently in Colonial Williamsburg, Virginia.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Dec 2000
Reviewed by: STARCHASER
I am teaching a cooking class for 8 six to eight year olds. This was the first cake they made. It got good reviews from all eight families. : - )
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Oct 2008
Reviewed by: Supermomofthree
I made this cake for my son's kindergarten class with the applesauce that they made together, everyone just loved it!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Feb 2008
Reviewed by: MOOSH34
Pretty good. Everyone said they liked it. I followed the recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes