My Reviews (43)

Two Meat Italian Sandwich

This sandwich recipe is like a whole Italian deli in a bread roll! It's definitely substantial enough as a lunch by itself. My family loves it.
Reviews (43)


10 Jul 2015
Reviewed by: GoodLady
Nice for lunch with a drink and very good for dinner with salad of tomatoes and lettuce.
 
11 Mar 2011
Reviewed by: Jillian
WOW - what a sandwich! We got Italian bread from one of our favorite bakeries and this was fabulous! I threw some kalamata olives into the mix and used high quality meats and cheeses for this. It was very good and very filling!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Jul 2007
Reviewed by: Donna
WOW! I thought I'd go out on a whim and try this... I went to the grocery, got home, threw it all together (in no time) and it was GREAT! Instead of olives (don't care for them on sandwiches) I used banana peppers AND I heated it in the over for about 10 mins. so the cheese would melt and the bread would get just a little crispy. Loved it and so did my husband! Thanks for sharing!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Oct 2007
Reviewed by: Culinary Ninja
You'll get much more flavor if you actually mix the olive salad together with the herbs and let it marinate in the fridge prior to making the sandwich. Also, a muffaletta is served on sourdough.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Jan 2006
I made these for the AFC Championship game and they were excellent. I did add a little Italian dressing to the olive mix only because I always do that. They had such a nice flavor! Go Pittsburgh!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Mar 2005
Reviewed by: AMOMMEE
I hate olives but LOVE this sandwich! I don't use the mozzarella cheese, as the provolone is plenty cheesy enough. You can buy olives already chopped. I cut the finished loaf into 8th's and put on a platter. Guests think I ordered from a gourmet shop!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Nov 2003
Reviewed by: DOWNALONG
I drizzled the bread with garlic oil, just like I do for my Sub Sandwiches, We really liked these. Thanks, Suzanne, I can now make two sandwiches my Grandchildren rave about.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Feb 2009
Reviewed by: Whitney Langwell
This sandwich is also delicious if you chop up giardiniera (pickled vegetables) and add in with the olives as the spread. This gives it a bit of kick. YUM!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Mar 2007
Reviewed by: Brooke
this is my favorite sandwich after eating it, i love it..
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Jun 2011
Reviewed by: bellepepper
I'm no muffuletta expert and frankly I don't care if this is authentic or not! This is a great sandwich!! I scaled this down to two servings for Hubs and me. I combined the parmesan, basil, oregano and olives, and just drizzled with enough olive oil to moisten the mixture. For two little sandwiches I thought the amount of basil and oregano (used fresh) might be too much so I scaled that back. I spread it on the bread and layered the rest of the ingredients, using only the provolone and no mozzarella. I wanted this to be a warm sandwich, so I wrapped the loaf in non-stick foil and baked at 350 for about 20 minutes. Great sandwich!! We’ll look forward to doing this one again! Thanks, Mary48!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes