My Reviews (255)

Coconut Chocolate Bars

This recipe makes very delicious biscuit bars with a crunchy crust and layers of coconut and chocolate. Very easy to make!
Reviews (255)


18 May 2011
Reviewed by: pichegirl
To make this much faster: Just use graham crackers right out of the box! Lay them on the bottom of a 9x13 pan then follow the recipe as if that's your cooked base! You may have to reduce the topping, or spread it over 2 cookie sheets of graham crackers, depends how dense you like them.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: the good cook
I'VE HAD THIS RECIPE FOR 30 YEARS, AND THE PROBLEM SPREADING THE COCONUT IS SOLVED BY HEATING THE CONDENSED MILK, THEN ADDING THE COCONUT TO THE MILK, RIGHT BEFORE SPREADING ON THE CRUST. THEN JUST FOLLOW THE RECIPE AS IS.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Mar 2009
Reviewed by: ASHTRASH
Got rave reviews!! I added more of the coconut mixture - it was about not quite doubled - I'd say more like one and a half to one and 3/4 of what the recipe called for. It completely covered the graham crust, no trouble spreading at all if you are gentle and have more topping to work with! I also used a cup of milk chocolate chips and a cop of semisweet, to get a better flavor balance (and because my dad refuses to eat SS chips) Scored the chocolate for easier cutting, too. But everyone loved it. My dad even requested that I add it to our annual Christmas Cookie List - very high praise indeed!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Apr 2011
Reviewed by: COOKIN4MYFAMILY
I made these bars because some of the photos look so good, but my bars were thin and did not resemble the photos at all. Now I've gone back to read the reviews of the photos I've admired to see that the bars were modified by baking in a smaller pan to get thicker bars and by increasing the coconut and/or chocolate layers. As written, these bars are way too sweet, and I didn't even add the white sugar to the crust. If I were to make them again, I would tone down the sweetness even more. I'd eliminate the white sugar, use unsweetened coconut, use more coconut (but not increase the sweetened condensed milk with it), and bake them in a smaller pan. You really have to have a sweet tooth to like this recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Apr 2011
Reviewed by: footballgrl16
These were pretty good, but like others have said, i prefer the 7layer magic cookie bars. I almost doubled the amount of coconut and sweetened milk, and i think it was a good amount. I also just sprinkled the chocolate over the hot topping, placed back in the oven for 2 min, and then spread it out and it worked perfectly.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Dec 2011
Reviewed by: Elizabeth
These are delicious but would have been too sweet for my family. Didn't add sugar to the graham crackers and used a smaller bag of chocolate chips. I solved the chocolate spredability issue! When the bars come out of the oven (after the coconut layer) sprinkle the chips on to evenly, and put back in the oven (with it turned off) for a couple of minutes. When you take it out, they spread beautifully and easily! Also, one less bowl to clean!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 May 2010
Reviewed by: Val-Flowers
If you love coconut you will LOVE this recipe. So sweet, rich and decadent. Was a very simple recipe to follow too! Loved it!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Mar 2011
Reviewed by: CookinBug
Excellent! To avoid the problem some had with spreading the coconut layer on top of the graham crackers I poured the coconut/sweetened condensed milk on, stuck it in the oven for a few minutes, pulled it back out and easily spread the warmed mixture around. I sprinkled sliced almonds on top of the chocolate. They are really, really tasty. Thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Dec 2010
Reviewed by: Ann Murphy
Recomend following changes. Skip the sugar and freeze or refrigerate overnight the graham cracker crust. Do not bake the crust before addition of coconut mixture. Mixture will spread smoothly over the chilled uncooked crust Bake 20 minutes at 350 and place Hersey Bars over still hot mixture. Spead after melted.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Aug 2004
Reviewed by: Stephanie Landa Butler
I brought these to a cookout and they were the hit of the dessert table! Thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes