My Reviews (29)

Barbecued Lamb and Raisin Kebabs

These are delicious Moroccan-style barbecued kebabs. Serve in warm pita bread with mixed greens and drizzle with a lemon and herb yoghurt sauce or a tzatziki sauce.
Reviews (29)


06 Jun 2007
Reviewed by: Renae Sattazahn
WOW! I did everything just like the recipe said and didn't omit any ingredients. Also, I recommend PEPPY'S PITA BREAD recipe to serve these kabobs in and the AVOCADO TZITZIKI SAUCE recipe. If you want a cheater recipe, use store-bought Greek flatbread, substitute sour cream for tzatziki, and feta for goat cheese. This will make it prep time much faster and overall cheaper.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Mar 2004
Reviewed by: BAKINBETTY
Pretty good, but a little too spicy. The lamb doesn't need the mayo because lamb is already a bit oily. I added red wine vinegar and that added a nice touch, plus green onions instead of red ones. Also, instead of grilling I broiled the meat until brown on top and cooked throughout. Served with feta, sliced tomatoes, and whole wheat pita. Very tasty!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Mar 2005
Reviewed by: Caroline C
Not bad. I omitted the mayo because I thought it might be a little greasy. I also left out the raisins because I cannot stand meat and fruit. I liked the taste but if I made it again, I would use feta not goat's cheese so it would be a little saltier. Finally, I browned the kebabs in a skillet, then baked them for 35 mins. We had them with pittas, and cucumber/yogurt sauce.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Apr 2009
Reviewed by: Kevin W
Delicious dish. One suggestion = small portions on wooden skewers. Cooking is trouble if you use metal skewers or add too much meat - the meat will fall off. This is fabolous with the homemade Tazeki ....
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Sep 2005
Reviewed by: Alan Hollister
this turned out very good, but it seemed to make a LOT more than 6 kabobs. I followed the recipe exactly and thought it was easy and very flavorful. will make again as patties rather than kabobs. thanks
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Jul 2010
Reviewed by: Julie Barracato
I was looking for a ground lamb recipe and absolutely loved the base ingredients...I omitted the raisins because I dont care much for them,I added rosemary instead of cilantro due to thats what I had on hand and prepared the mix in the morning and put them all together then chilled them all day in the fridge..That seemed to hold them together much easier..I also started them in foil on the grill and finished them directly on the grill~I was afraid they would fall apart!!Worked beautifully.Paired them with fresh tzatki sauce and cucumber and tomatoe salad with Pita on the side!!!Added to my Favorites!!Loved it!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Nov 2007
Reviewed by: FaizahB
Absolutely sensational. My husband who loves lamb couldn't resist taking thirds. The raisins add such a bright accent to the meat. Don't skimp on using goat cheese, it definately adds to the flavour.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
31 Mar 2009
Reviewed by: Brenda Kay Piper
Easy and tasty. I would have given it a 5-stars, but I thought 3/4-tablespoon cayenne pepper was way over the top. The cayenne pepper was decreased to 1/2-teaspoon. I didn't make kabobs, but formed mixture into meatballs and broiled them instead. I bet this mixture would make some awesome burgers -- or sauteed and spread over a pizza.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Sep 2006
Reviewed by: Gina Izzy Shores
These were really good! I served them with homemade pita breads, tsaziki sauce, lettuce, tomato and onions for a gyro dinner.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 May 2006
Reviewed by: OCEANAVE
These were very good. I served them with the Qabali rice (boil the rice for only 3-5 minutes)from this site and a cilantro/parsley pepper sauce. I will make this combination again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes