My Reviews (24)

Frozen Chocolate Bananas

Try these frozen chocolate bananas as an alternative to ice cream as a summer treat. You can vary the toppings to suit your taste, including drizzling with melted white or milk chocolate or caramel. Roll in grated coconut, chopped nuts, sprinkles or other toppings.
Reviews (24)


03 May 2011
Reviewed by: Sarah Jo
Huge fun for my youngest boy and I to have today while everyone else was out. I used organic bananas, extra-dark chocolate chips and we used both chopped salted peanuts and toasted coconut to roll the bananas. We were able to make these this morning and they were ready to enjoy after Quiet Time. HUGE hit. We loved this.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 May 2011
Reviewed by: Jillian
Cute and creative - not to mention delicious! This reicpe is definitely one for kids of all ages. My niece and I had fun decoating these we used a variety of items including: chopped peanuts, coconut, M&M's, colored sprinkles, and mini marshmallows. These not only look good, but taste good too! Thanks for a great recipe and a fun activity!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Aug 2010
Reviewed by: CC<3's2bake
What a fun and yummy recipe, not to mention another terrific use for those over ripe bananas. I never would have thought to make these myself ~ one of the reasons I love this site so much. They were easy for the kids to handle and dip in the chocolate themselves, which is great, because when you've 'made' it yourself, it tastes so much better! We dipped, then rolled in chopped peanuts. One tip: take the bananas out of the freezer only one or two at a time to dip. The dipping, rolling (and reheating of the chocolate halfway through) process takes just enough time that half of our bananas had become soft and wet on the outside which meant the chocolate kept sliding off when we went to dip them. Thanks for giving us a fun and nutritious snack recipe for the kids!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Aug 2010
Reviewed by: Scarlette
Gotta say, I had some major ISSUES when I first tried out this recipes...I went through TWO bags of chocolate chips and they all BURNT. Yes, you can burn chocolate, haha. But after finding some easy fix tips this recipe turned out AMAZING. First off, DO NOT try to melt you chocolate in 30 second intervals- ten secodns intervals is recomended if youre going to use the microwave. Its a pain to stop and go for that long but I promise you, you wont burn your chocolate like I did. Secondly, you can use a double boiler, basically find a pot or soemthing that can withsand boiling water heat and place it ON TOP of your pot of your boiling water- youll have a consistent heart source so your chocolate wont harden as quickly and you dont have to worry about it melting (I highly recomend using the double boiler method!). Last tip! If you find that your chocolate is still hard and isnt having a "melty shine" to it (basically its not very liquidy) slowly add canola oil - about a table spoon each you feel like you need it-to the mixture as you stir. It loosens up the chocolate and makes it much easier to work with and you get the right texture for the chocolate; this works if youre melting your chocolate on a double boiler or in the microwave- add the canaola oil every ten seconds interval for microwaves and whenever you feel lik you need it on the oven. Did a batch of white chocolate bananas and they were DIVINE.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Aug 2010
Reviewed by: naz
i love the idea of having the bananas as monkey tails since im a kid i have it all the time
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 May 2011
Reviewed by: Kerry Pittman
definately use the butter or oil of some kind i didnt 1st try and bombed out. nothing stuck to the bananas.reread the recipie and started ovr score. i was paying a rediculous price for these at the grocers and now i hav litraly pennys in each 1 since over ripe bananas get tossed here. when i did buy them we got the dark choc. so i used a dark choc. chip. yummy
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Jun 2012
Reviewed by: Sheila LaLonde
I cut my bananas in thirds instead of half, as I was making these for pre-schoolers. I went the easy way and bought tubs of microwavable chocolate and therefore did not use the butter. I dipped mine in red/white/blue sprinkles for a 4th of July cookout celebration at my granddaughter's preschool. They turned out really cute and were a big hit. Easy, semi-healthy and fun! Thanks for sharing the recipe, CRYSTALSHOE!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Sep 2011
Reviewed by: Olivia Myers
Interestingly....we didn't like these much. I had a difficult time getting the chocolate to stick to the frozen banana which made a huge mess. Not sure what I did wrong, but we didn't like this treat enough to make it again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Aug 2011
Reviewed by: BonCanCook
I had a package of milk chocolate chips in the house so that is what I used. I did add one T of butter while melting the chips in a double boiler but my chocolate was still too thick to dip the bananas into it. I then added some half and half to the chocolate and that worked fine. So, although I deviated from the original recipe, and improvised a little, everything still came out fine. I rolled the bananas in shredded coconut and also in chopped pecans. They look and taste great. I love the recipe. What a nice treat. Thank You.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 May 2011
Reviewed by: Chelsea Gratz
These are a great summer treat! They are delicious and very easy to make!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes