My Reviews (19)

Margarine Cake

This is a very easy cake to make, very simple and straightforward. Reminds me of the great cakes my mother made when I was growing up.
Reviews (19)


28 May 2008
Reviewed by: Nana Sidek
I make this cake yesterday. Use all-purpose flour instead of cake flour and 1/2 cup of sugar less. The texture was very nice which is soft and moist. Taste just like the cake that my mom bake 30 years ago.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Dec 2006
Reviewed by: safee
I've made this cake many times now. Its easy to make and delicious too. It is very sweet but when I tried making it with less sugar it didnt taste quite as nice.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Mar 2010
Reviewed by: kerstin
no problems with this cake,used all purpose flour and a bundt pan,i took one cup of the batter out and addet 1/4 cups unsweetened cocoa,i swirled it with a butter knife into the rest of the batter in the bundt pan.came out great .
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Dec 2009
Reviewed by: JWOWEN
This is the author of the recipe - don't know how to make any comments other than this way...please note that the recipe calls for a tube pan (very important). A bundt pan was likely too shallow for the batter. I'm sorry it didn't turn out for you.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Jan 2008
Reviewed by: Karen.U
This cake was great ! I didn't have cake flour so I used reg. I sifted 3 times. It still turned out great.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Aug 2007
Reviewed by: lawcook
Okay you guys and gals. This cake is AWESOME!!! Do not change a thing. Just eat the butter and all of the sugar that goes with it. My cake was gone in just under an hour when my neighbors came by to visit.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Nov 2011
Reviewed by: Ashley1214
I was pleasantly surprised I really didn't expect the cake to come out well because of the margarine and all purpose flour, I expected it to be dense. I have made poundcakes for years only using butter, cake flour, and sour cream. I was a bit surprised when I tried this recipe and it came out moist and delicious. I only made one slight adjustment I only added a 1/2 cup of milk instead of of 1 cup because the batter consistency without the liquid was already close to the usual poundcake consistency and it come out great. Thx
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Jun 2006
Reviewed by: Paula Mathers
This cake is very soft and moist. I made it in a Whinnie the Pooh tin for my daughter, and it turned out lovely. The only thing i would suggest is reducing the amount of sugar, its very sticky to the touch, and 3 cups of sugar is a lot in my opinion. Apart from that, very good. i will definately make again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Apr 2009
Reviewed by: sparkysarah
LOL, this is a comedy cake! I followed the directions exactly and used a bundt pan. It expanded and started running all over the place in the oven. We had to run fans, open windows and doors because it smoked up the house. Plus it was as if it had cooked hardly at all. If only it were April first. (The batter was extra yummy and I was so looking forward to this...darn it) I will try again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Jul 2007
Reviewed by: Aromi
Easy to make and tastes wonderful. Thanks!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes