My Reviews (1,000)

Vanilla Chocolate Chip Biscuits

These chocolate chip biscuits are made with instant vanilla pudding which adds a special flavour and a delightful chewy texture.
Reviews (1000)


13 Mar 2007
Reviewed by: sarajo614
I've used this recipe for years and everybody wants the recipe for it. I never give the recipe out because I've never seen a cookie recipe that calls for pudding before so I sort of consider it the secret ingredient of my signature cookie recipe. I always use Butter Flavor Crisco and a whole bag of chips. This recipe is easy to vary into peanut butter by using 1/2 c crisco and 1 c pb. You can make it into oatmeal cookies by using only 1 and 1/4 c of flour and 3 c of old fashioned oats. Or spice it up and use chocolate pudding and vanilla chips or peanut butter chips. Just have fun with this recipe. There are soooo many possibilities!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Jul 2006
Reviewed by: nildamaria2002
These were so delicious. Made mine a little more moist by totally melting butter, adding 2+ tablespoons milk, and left out about 1 Tbsp pudding mix; also added chopped walnuts and about 1/2 teaspoon more vanilla extract; best if dropped, not flattened (tried both); when dropped, yields cookie with a slight crunch as you bite into it, but then the middle just melts in your mouth; yes, the center is somewhat cake-like (per vanilla pudding mix), but that's what makes this cookie so good/different--- it's a thick, but moist cookie (not flat and crunchy or flat and gooey or thick and dry)
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Jul 2007
Reviewed by: wifeyluvs2cook
Well, these cookies I have to say were the best chocolate chip cookies Ive ever had/made. I took them to my church's prayer meeting, and they all loved them. I did take the advice of the viewers and added 1/4 tsp of salt, and I used NESTLE semi-sweet chocolate chunks instead of chips. Man they were AWESOME. Definitely cook them for 10 mins, and they are so soft!!!Update: Ive made these quite a few times, and I tried it with just one stick of butter, and, they are still just as good, and deliciously soft without all the fat!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Jan 2008
Reviewed by: CookinBug
Pudding really is the miracle worker here. I made one minor adjustment... used CHEESECAKE flavored pudding instead of vanilla. Result? Cookies that people would throw punches over. Mine did not spread at all; very puffy. They look lovely!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Nov 2008
Reviewed by: Sarah Jo
This was so easy. And they turned out so well. I used half butter, half margerine to prevent spreading and I refrigerated the dough to firm it up just a couple hours. Great cookie! EDITED MANY MONTHS LATER: I've been making these lately with instant cheesecake pudding and M&M's of any variety. (My husband likes the peanut butter, I like the dark chocolate.) With the cheesecake pudding, these are better than sex. Much better than Mrs. Fields or Tollhouse, for sure.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 May 2006
Reviewed by: MEL06010
Mmmmmmmmmm.......this is one SUPERB cookie! I didn't have vanilla pudding, so I subbed with toasted coconut flavor instead. Threw in 1/4 c. sweetened, flaked coconut & followed the rest of the recipe exactly. Even my finicky boss was impressed. Only regret was how fast they disappeared (I have 2 teenage boys in the house). Changing the pudding or chip flavors enables limitless varities.........THANKS!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Dec 2006
Reviewed by: jlcook
Okay, neither my husband nor I liked these cookies at all. THey were way to sweet and cakey like. Oh and they didn't turn out anything like the picture either--much thicker.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Mar 2007
Reviewed by: LOLAKATY
These cookies were nice and soft and cakey, and they stayed that way for over a week! I consider that to be a pretty good trade off for the slight aftertaste that the instant pudding gave them. If you are making cookies for the purpose of eating raw cookie dough, (ahem) I would skip this recipe. It didn't taste good raw.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Apr 2006
Reviewed by: anmlnrs
No question about it! These are to die for! Wonderfully moist even days later (if I remember to hide a few from my cookie loving husband)! Add extra choc chips and don't be afraid to substitute different kinds of pudding/chips.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Mar 2006
Reviewed by: Sara Allen
I thought these cookies turned out pretty well. I used butterscotch pudding and added a little bit of salt. They are very moist I thought they had a nice butter flavor. I would probably make these cookies again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes