My Reviews (39)

Special Carrot Cake

The secret to this truly moist cake is that the carrots are cooked instead of raw. It really is better the day after it is made - refrigerate overnight please.
Reviews (39)


04 Sep 2005
Reviewed by: SHERROKEE
hi, it sounds good and cant wait to make it but I have a little question? Um, why do we pour the batter into paper towel lined pan? wont the batter stick to paper towels? wouldnt wax paper be better or what am I missing here, lol? thanks in advance!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Dec 2008
Reviewed by: Kathy Champion
I have made this cake several times and everytime it's a hit. It's very moist and yummy. I do substitute a few ingredients. I use 1 tsp. of allspice and 1 tsp. cinnomon. I also used pecans instead of walnuts. I add raisins because to me carrot cake isn't carrot cake without them. As for lining the pan with paper towels...I didn't. I just prepared my pan with oil & flour and baked as directed. I baked it a bit slower than the directions assuring even cooking. I make this a two layer cake and doubled the frosting recipe to have enough to cover both layers. I sprinkled chopped pecans over for garnish. It taste great and makes a great presentation.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Jul 2003
Reviewed by: ozcook
where did I go wrong? tasted good, but turned out like a rubber duck, Mixture too wet maybe, but followed the recipe exactly, maybe it's the Australian carrots at fault
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Jun 2005
Reviewed by: BEANS4
The BEST carrot cake so far. Walnuts are not very popular in our house so I substituted raisins and it worked just as good. Thankyou.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Mar 2005
Reviewed by: NORMA STONE
Best carrot cake. We used canned carrot. I supervisor a school cafeteria and this was an excellant way to use some of our government commodities. We fixed it for Christmas and are having it for Easter dinner.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Oct 2008
Reviewed by: Kim
Moist Cake! I made mine with 1/2 tsp each of cinnamon, nutmeg, cloves and ginger for a little more flavor. I also used 3 cups of shredded carrots rather that the cooked. Next time I make it I will pour it onto a parchment paper. Thanks for the recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Jun 2004
Reviewed by: TORIFAN
I'm not sure what the other person did wrong either...I made this because I had leftover cooked carrots and it was FANTASTIC!! Very very very moist!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Sep 2010
Reviewed by: Sharyl R.
Great recipe.....!! I'm not sure what could have gone wrong for the person it didn't work out for, but it always comes out great for me!! Instead of using just cinnamon, I use cardamom, as it adds a special sweet spiciness to it....then I cheat and make things simple by just using a commericla cream cheese frosting - which is always a hit.....a super way to make use of the leftover carrots from dinner or just using up the carrots that are left in your garden!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
31 Aug 2004
Reviewed by: JONNA2
This is the best carrot cake. My family insists that I make it often.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Feb 2005
Reviewed by: Shony Wright
Yummy!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes