My Reviews (13)

Fruit Cake with Brazil Nuts

This is a simple and delicious fruit and nut cake. It's actually better made ahead of time as it just gets better and better.
Reviews (13)


13 Dec 2001
Reviewed by: BROWNIEBAKER
This is the best fruitcake ever! It's the kind of fruitcake I grew up with, and I had been searching for this recipe for a long time. The nuts really make the cake -- very crunchy and chewy and dense. Beautiful to look at too, each slice like a stained-glass window. The first time I made this, I ate half a loaf in one sitting -- it is that irresistible!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Nov 2002
Reviewed by: LEE61
This being my first fruitcake, I really didn't know what to expect. I didn't add as much fruit as the recipe said and it came out great. Nice mellow flavor. Let set for a week or two.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Oct 2000
Reviewed by: Bea Gassman
make one of these without alcohol for the kids. My grandchildren like this as well as fruit cookies.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Mar 2008
Reviewed by: WDH
My first fruitcake attempt and it turned out well. It was a little dry; but I may have overbaked it. As a remedy, I wrapped in cheesecloth soaked in apple juice for several days and it moistened up fine. I substituted walnuts for the Brazil nuts. My husband and mother, both fruitcake fanatics, really enjoyed it...especially since it was homemade.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Dec 2007
Reviewed by: farmergirl
Liked it very much, but changed the nuts. I don't like brazil nuts, so I put walnuts in. I also made small cakes to give as gifts to my mail carrier, trash man, paper women and Schwan man. I also printed out the recipe for them. They were all excited.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Dec 2004
Reviewed by: CATHEHETT
I really enjoyed this recipe, but next time I will use a little less nuts and a citrus mix.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Dec 2008
Reviewed by: Kristen
this fruitcake is so good! we can't stop eating it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Dec 2012
Reviewed by: BlueMoonGirl
This really is the best fruitcake. I've tired with the regular recipe and pecans rather than brazil nuts; fantastic. Perfect blend of fruit with just enough cake to hold it together. I've also modified the recipe and used dried pineapple, papaya, shredded coconut with almonds for an Hawaiian flavor. The recipe is very forgiving of what kind of fruits and nuts to use, so go ahead and get creative. You will not be disappointed.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Jan 2013
Reviewed by: jomomma
Best fruitcake ever!!! Never made one so easy and it came out perfect 2 hours ago and it's half eaten already. I used pecans, Cherries and pineapple then I added a touch of cinnamon . It was fantastic almost exactly like the Corsicana fruitcake company and those are 23.00 each. I will make this for Christmas presents next year in little loaf pans. Even if you don't like fruitcake just try this one with your favorite fruit. It is so healthy too!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Dec 2016
Reviewed by: Whydo Yuouwanttoknow
I used dates and bought fruit mix and the traditional pecans. It came out very tasty and nice!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes