My Reviews (19)

Coffee Rum Cake

There is no chocolate cake that can't be improved with the addition of a little coffee and rum! It's simple to make and very dense and rich.
Reviews (19)


05 May 2009
Reviewed by: vicnmary45
OMG!!! This is one of the best cakes I have ever made and fairly easy too. I used Captain Morgan spiced rum. It is moist and chocolatey. Many kudos to you.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Jun 2008
Reviewed by: Teri Knapp
This cake is wonderfully moist and very good. It's great with a semi-sweet chocolate and rum glaze.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Sep 2002
Reviewed by: CHARLESBABBITT
Looked nice (and smelt nice, but despite cooking for one and a half hours, remaining totally runny! Especially upsetting as I was making it for my partner's birthday cake and didn't have time to get him another cake.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 May 2017
Reviewed by: RC Shed
I followed the recipe exactly and when it was finished and fresh out of the oven I sprinkled chocolate chips on the top to melt. This is going to be my favorite cake from now on. It was moist and extremely flavorful. love it love it love it
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 May 2014
Reviewed by: NMChef1
This was a very nice cake. I'd vaguely heard of this kind before. I rarely make coffee, and when making it for this cake, I briefly wondered if the "cups" used were the 5-ounce "cups" used by my coffee maker, or the standard 8-ounce liquid measure cups - I used the latter. This was also the first time I'd ever used a tube pan. (I actually bought a 10-inch one for this recipe, but it turned out a little too big, and I think a 9-inch tube pan would suffice.) A toothpick tested clean at 1:20, so I stopped baking at that point. While still warm, the cake was still fairly soft, moist and fudgy. I actually preferred the cake as leftovers, straight from the fridge, or almost room-temperature again, when the cake was firm and richly dense. I can't say that I noticed the rum, but the coffee and chocolate combination was quite tasty. I don't know how this recipe compares with similar ones, but it's worth recommending, in my book.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Mar 2014
Reviewed by: Sarah Dutton
I liked this recipe, though I can't comment on how it is when made exactly as written. I substituted half the butter for applesauce and made a chocolate glaze out of granulated sugar, vanilla, hot chocolate mix, and butter and drenched the top of the cake in it. I also made it in a casserole dish. Brought it to a party and people liked it! Wasn't the best cake ever--I think the cake itself needed more flavor...though I'm not sure what I should adjust for that. More chocolate? Or maybe the applesauce did something? Anyways the cake was fluffy yet moist and good, especially with the addition of the glaze. I can also see how cherries would be yummy in here, as one previous reviewer suggested.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Jun 2010
Reviewed by: coley
awesome cake!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Jun 2009
Reviewed by: tizech
This was deeelishuuuusss. I made for father's day and he loved it, wish I'd thought of the cherries though! Followed the recipe, no changes. Topped with strawberries. I was really worried about how runny it was even though I'd read another submitter had mentioned it but came out fine. This is a keeper and I plan on doing it for 4th July if we can wait that long! Thank you sooo much.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Feb 2006
Reviewed by: Moonswirled
I have never in my life made a recipe using 2 sticks of butter... but made the exception b/c it was my husbands birthday. I cooked it in two cake pans for 50 minutes, and the results were incredible. So rich and sinful that we had to give some away.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes