My Reviews (35)

Mincemeat Pie Bars

Mincemeat pies are a traditional holiday treat, but these bars are good any time of year. If you prefer you can use another type of pie filling.
Reviews (35)


24 Nov 2001
Reviewed by: IVY YOUNG
Wonderful for the Holidays. May I suggest the following additions.. 1/2 tsp cinnamon, ginger,nutmeg,cloves, 1cup chopped walnuts, increase vanilla to 1tsp, & 2 1/2 tsp milk... I tried this version & can't stop eating them..
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Feb 2005
Reviewed by: BRUCEDIETER
My wife and I find this to be an outstanding recipe. We used my mother-in-laws pint gift jar of mincemeat that was spicy enough (no need to add spices as suggested by another reviewer). Zest from an orange was a nice complement. DO NOT MAKE CONFECTION topping until you taste the sweetness. We will cut pack on a third of the sugar which ruins an otherwise excellent treat.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Nov 2006
Reviewed by: VoodooKitty
These are AMAZING. I made them for a recent buffet feast we had at our home and EVERYONE loved them. I ended up having to print out copies of this recipe. I left off the frosting too as they are already just super sweet and pretty by themselves.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 May 2009
Reviewed by: Elizabeth
A wonderful alternative to date squares! Absolutely DO NOT add the additional iced topping as suggested!! These mincemeat goodies are plenty sweet. Adding the extra icing would just ruin them.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Dec 2006
Reviewed by: SUSAN
This is a delicious recipe. As suggested by others, I did not add the icing. The bars are plenty sweet without it. I may add some walnuts next time. These freeze well.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Nov 2005
Reviewed by: PSYCHGIRL26
These are delicious! I didn't have any oranges, so I used a teeny bit of lemon juice. We can't stop eating these!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Dec 2011
Reviewed by: frebay
this is very easy and very yummy,i didnt put icing on mine as it was sweet enough,im never making mince pices again,this was so much easier and so much more tasty
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
05 Mar 2009
Reviewed by: ILENEFAITH1
Thanks Rosina. These are GREAT and I have made them MANY times...always a success. I also use different preserves, apricot, orange. Try one of your favorites. I would hesitate using grape since it may be too runny. ENJOY!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Dec 2007
Reviewed by: Moira
Not very good--need more filling than recipe calls for. Gluey texure, very greasy.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 May 2007
Reviewed by: M Callen
Didn't really like it much. Each family member only ate 1/2 when I gave them a small bar of it. I froze it hoping that it might be better after it was frozen. Probably not.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes