My Reviews (10)

Easy Shoestring Tuna Salad

This is a very quick and simple tuna salad and hard to beat for flavour. The addition of crunchy shoestring chips is what makes it special.
Reviews (10)


20 May 2009
Reviewed by: Sarah Jo
This was very tasty. I had some shoestring potatoes that were sent over from Canada in a snack trade just itching for a recipe like this. And you know, my kids freaking loved it! I added a little chopped garlic dill to it. Kids ate theirs on bread, I ate mine alone. (Mom's cutting back on carbs, you know.) I didn't even miss the bread!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Feb 2010
Reviewed by: Norma V.
Loved it! We omitted the onion and substituted raisins to make it more appealing to our young kids. And, we substituted potato chips for the shoestring potatoes (we didn't have shoestrings). Overall, it's a keeper.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Aug 2010
Reviewed by: KimberlyClaire
Also excellent using canned chicken in place of tuna!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Oct 2011
Reviewed by: JennyMK
My mom used to make this for us when we were growing up. Very yummy for lunch! Glad I could find the right measurements on the ingredients, again. Plan to make it sometime this week.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 May 2012
Reviewed by: B_Roc
I removed the potatoes and subbed out the mayo for italian dressings, which made it more like a tuna salad. It was tasty.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Aug 2011
Reviewed by: Caaarla
My husband and I both loved it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Apr 2014
Reviewed by: valinutah
i finally was able to share this recipe with my number one guy. he admits he was hesitant at first, but after trying it, it disappeared...fast. the next day he made sure we had the ingredients again and he made it. i add some garlic salt and pepper. it is a great budget meal...one that was absolutely fabulous when i was a kid and still is.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Apr 2013
Reviewed by: sueb
This made me feel like a kid again with chips in my tuna salad! Served with creative garnishes, this was a hit at my house!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 May 2019
Reviewed by: Cindy Young-Johnson
I love this salad and have been making it and changing it for 40 or more years. I have used shoestring potatoes, but I prefer it with chow mein noodles. Sometimes I make it with no carrots, but with frozen peas and hard boiled eggs. For me, it isn't tuna salad without mayonnaise. I don't like it sweet or oily.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Apr 2016
Reviewed by: HurdBird
I am a vegetarian, so in place of the tuna, I used some mashed pinto beans. Surprisingly, it turned out pretty good and not a bad substitute for tuna salad. Will definitely try again with other beans. I'm thinking chickpeas next time.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes