My Reviews (22)

Herby Mussels

If fresh herbs are available, use 1/4 cup of oregano, thyme or rosemary (or mix of the three) in place of the Italian herbs. Pair with a large loaf of crusty bread to soak up the generous sauce.
Reviews (22)


31 Dec 2004
Reviewed by: REDDKATT
I developed a recipe very similar to this after our family fell in love with a mussel dish from Carrabba's restaurant. To dry a variation on the above recipe, substitute dry white wine for the sherry; add about 4 tablespoons of Pernot, substitute fresh basil for the Italian seasoning *double the basil for using fresh*; use fresh or canned chicken broth instead of boullion cubes *too salty IMO*; and add about 2 cups heavy cream. Oh my GOSH will you be in hog heaven over these mussels. The given recipe works up very well, but try the changes if you want to try a creamy version with a slightly different sauce. Katt
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Aug 2006
Reviewed by: LINDA MCLEAN
I felt the sherry was overpowering the dish, so I added low salt chicken broth to try and balance out the flavors. That addition seemed to make all the difference. Good start tho as I do enjoy the taste of sherry. Thank you!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Apr 2007
Reviewed by: Lisa
these were good substituting the sherry for 1/2 dry white wine, 1/2 low sodium chicken broth. I use way more garlic, but that is a personal preference. I also use basil... so i really didn't follow the original recipe all that much but it is a good start. What we do is when eating is have a cup of melted butter and a cup of old bay seasoning. First, dip in butter, then dip in old bay... then sit back and feel the love... . can you tell we love our mussels!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Sep 2005
Reviewed by: Kitchen Karyn
I thought these were fabulous! My husband gobbled them up, too! However, I only put 4 stars because I thought it called for way too much sherry, mine tasted just great with half the amt. of what the recipe called for. THanks!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Sep 2009
Reviewed by: Patty
I didn't change a thing. It tastes as good as it tastes in finer restaurants.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Jan 2009
Reviewed by: MattH
Went over well with the people I made it for. I'm not a sherry drinker, so I cut the sherry with low sodium broth as per a previous comment and that was great. Next round I'll probably add some more garlic, just because you can never have too much.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Jan 2008
Reviewed by: Ashley Willis
These mussels were awesome. My parents always make mussels but I wanted to cook them with a new recipe and this one was perfect. I actually forgot to put in the onion but they were wonderful anyway. I may be making them again for Sunday dinner.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Apr 2009
Reviewed by: chefTAVARI
Yummy! Perfect when you wanna stay home with your loved one and dance. TASTY !!! Going to make this again. Use Fine sherry!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Aug 2011
Reviewed by: Peter J Boyd-Bowman
Best mussell recipe ever. I highly recommend.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Aug 2011
Reviewed by: Morgan
Awfully salty!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes