My Reviews (18)

Sweet and Zesty Barbecue Sauce

A perfect barbecue sauce for marinating or basting. Our family loves garlic and onion, so we add a little extra. Any leftover sauce can be frozen.
Reviews (18)


30 May 2002
Reviewed by: WWILLE99
I was pretty unimpressed. Not at all zesty, even though I added Franks Red Hot and some Hickory Seasoning (Liquid Smoke). Tasted a lot like my moms homemade sloppy joes. Bland enough that kids might like, except its chunky, which turns mine right off. I won't use this recipe again. Sorry Micky!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Aug 2007
Reviewed by: MISSTHANGOHIO
My husband used this recipe for a church gathering we had on 8-19-07 ...and everyone really liked it...he let his ribs smoke for 6 hours using this sauce and turned out great!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Oct 2008
Reviewed by: Bernadette Robinson
This sauce is pretty good but I made a few changes. I used brown sugar instead of white, balsamic vinegar instead of white, and 1/2 tsp of celery seed (instead of celery pc's) and 1 tsp of onion powder instead of onion. It just made the sauce smoother. I also used 1/2 cup of ketchup and 1/2 cup of hp sauce. My husband loves it and I keep a jar in the fridge now
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Dec 2009
Reviewed by: TNCakeLady
Excellent "base" sauce, and as the author says--you can zip it up your way! I followed the recipe to a "T" and found a light, tangy sauce for almost anything. YOU MUST LIKE A SLIGHTLY TEXTURED SAUCE TO ENJOY THIS ONE---it is slightly chunky. Good idea to really saute' the veggies well before adding the other ingredients. I did add another tablespoon brown sugar along with a dash or two of hot sauce to zip it up a bit. Wonderful and easily earns a HIGH 5!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Sep 2005
Reviewed by: kenpf
I was looking for an easy sweet sauce to put on some fried chicken wings. Wasn't bad but, alot like ketchup.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Jan 2010
I made this on a whim and I am soooo glad I did! I took the advice of some other reviews and used Brown Sugar instead of White and I used Balsamic vinegar instead of white. I used a teaspoon of Spicy Brown Mustard instead of dry mustard too. I also added a half cup of reagular bbq sauce from my fridge because I didn't want the ending sauce to have a too much of a ketchup taste. When you mix the ingredients together the sauce looks - well - scary! I asked myself, "do I really want to try this?" But I trusted Mickey (haha) and went with it! I have become known for my BBQ now thanks to this sauce!! I slow cook 6 to 8 chicken breasts on LOW for 6 hours. Then I shred the chicken (pulling the meat apart a little at a time with 2 forks) and then I put the shredded meat back in the sauce and slow cook overnight on LOW. Allowing the meat to soak up the sauce makes this BBQ GREAT!!! I always make it for when we have parties and guests-- it is a crowd pleaser FOR SURE! Thanks Mickey- whoever you are!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Dec 2008
Reviewed by: Chelly
This BBQ sauce is a very nice and tangy topping for almost anything. I made it for my family with pork ribs and they loved it so much that they wanted to eat it out of the pan! I do however add a little extra lemon and some hamburger spices. It helps to make the flavor a little more bold and give it extra zing.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Apr 2010
Reviewed by: cheif warm-up
Use 1/2 ketchup 1/2 HP sauce. Use brown sugar. Use balsamic vinegar. Can try spicy mustard.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Mar 2010
Reviewed by: Choppomatic
this is the best bbq sauce i have ever tasted last nite i made 60 chicken breats for the guys and the store bought bbq sauce had spoiled this basically saved my life from a flavorless dinner
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Jul 2009
Reviewed by: Big John
i twiked a little and it was great ( the wife love it
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes