My Reviews (12)

Beer Steamed Mussels

Mussels are extra good when steamed in a mixture of beer and wine. Sop up the lovely juice with crusty bread or serve the mussels over linguine.
Reviews (12)


25 Dec 2007
Reviewed by: hotdog
Big disappointment. Edible, but wrong so many ways. First of all, there were 3 big eaters and I bought just 2 pounds of mussels and we had leftovers (maybe wouldn't have if they had tasted better), but 2 pounds for 3 was ample - not 5 pounds for 4! Secondly, boil 10 minutes and then lower heat and cook another 5 until the shells open? You're kidding, right? The shells opened within a couple of minutes in the pot. That left the onion and garlic not cooked enough and the beer taste very pronounced. Glad I didn't bother with the linguini, as the the broth was, well, broth-like and not likely to stick to anything. We fished out the mussels and ate the bread. First time I had tried a recipe that included both beer and red wine. Probably the last. Try another recipe. At $4.99 a pound, mussels deserve better.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Nov 2007
Reviewed by: happyhappymama
This was my first time making mussels at home; this recipe was easy and delicious. I stuck to the recipe, but added mushrooms, and served over pasta. My teenager and I loved it! Fabulous!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Mar 2007
Reviewed by: Karen T.
Melissa's recipe is terrific, just like the other reviewers said! I served it over linguine and sprinkled red hot pepper flakes on top for an added kick. A must try!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Jun 2006
Absolutely delicious - wouldn't change a thing! Made it for an appetizer before our baked haddock dinner & it was so yummy!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Jan 2007
Reviewed by: FOXFIRE2
I didn't have the onion and used onion powder instead, used red cooking wine in place of red wine. I used canned plum tomatos and pureed the ingredients. It seemed to have a really nice flavor before mussels added. But as the mussels cooked, the sauce thinned and lost flavor. I imagine not using the onion & real red wine made a difference in the flavor. I prefer a white wine base with garlic instead of tomatoe/red wine base.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Nov 2007
Reviewed by: Margaret
Easy and Excellent. I didn't use the peppercorns and didn't miss them. The cooking instructions were right on for plump well cooked, but not chewy mussels.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Feb 2010
Reviewed by: Barn Girl
This was fantastic. I used a a can of diced tomatoes with chiles, which added great flavor. The broth was a little watery(but so was my can of diced tomatoes), so the mussels were removed when cooked, and the liquid was reduced. This was served over angel hair. Will definitely make again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Jul 2007
Reviewed by: MARXIE
Sorry but this was just OK. It was missing flavour. Maybe a little red pepper or more garlic,believ it or not. The sauce was too thin for pasta. Oh well, at least it was edible.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
31 Aug 2006
Reviewed by: Chef Jerry T
Served this one for the dinner tonight. Simple and easy. 100% satisfaction from my girlfriend and tons of kisses <3
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Jul 2006
Reviewed by: BronwynP1983
I added two chopped serrano peppers to the recipe and salt. Melissa's recipe is outstanding!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes