My Reviews (16)

Chocolate Chip Biscuit Gift Jar

This is a great idea for a 'mass' food gift. Mix up all this biscuit mix in a big bowl, divide it into jars and give it as a gift with directions attached (and a nice ribbon!).
Reviews (16)


21 Dec 2001
Reviewed by: MYLITTLECOTTAGE
I made this recipe using butter flavored shortening and it is FANTASTIC. If you are searching through all these "in a jar" cookie recipes, this is the one. I substituted green and red M&M's for the butterscotch pieces, and it makes an attractive mix in the jar for Christmas gifts-a lot easier and faster than layering all those messy ingredients! Also, when combining the shortening, give the spoon a rest and use your hands. Its much quicker and you can finish up with a pastry cutter for a finer texture. Overall, this is fast and good-we baked one batch and they are nicely textured and flavorful with the butter shortening.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Nov 2006
Reviewed by: Sherry Brandon
This is the BEST! And after doing a little research, as long as the jars are air tight, this mix should last up to six months with no problems! Thanks for sharing this recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Oct 2003
Reviewed by: KATHPO
The jars really did look good with the shortening mixture, but I had many questions from people about shelf life of a jar mix containing shortening that I could not fully answer. I suggested everyone use it within 1 month, but if you were the recipient of a gift like this, wouldn't you want to be sure of the freshness? Anyone else have the answer for us all?
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Dec 2003
Reviewed by: FACSTeacher
I thought this recipe was great and easy. Mix the choc chips and butterschotch chips together evenly first before adding them to the mix. I used 2 cups regular shortening and 2 cups butter flavor. Using your hands is much easier and a very large mixng bowl is definitely required. Hint: After adding the 4 cups to each of your mason jars let them settle a little then divide the remaining mix evenly among all 6 jars. I used a printer to print the RECIPE on a label and placed the label on the side of the jar because last year many people lost the little paper I had attached with the directions.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Dec 2001
Reviewed by: CREATIVE COTTAGE
This recipe makes really good cookies. It takes a little time to blend in the shortening but its worth it. I made them for my daughters teachers. I thought it might be a good idea to try a batch before sending and they are really good.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Nov 2003
Reviewed by: ALEEDOM
This was an awesome mix. Used it last year for Christmas. I used the Hoilday MM's instead of the butterscotch chips. I wanted the color and I layered the jar. This was a bit tricky because the recipe calls for everthing to be mixed together then put into the jars. But it was a success. Everyone I gave these jars to Raved about them and asked for the recipe. 5star!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
31 Jan 2008
Reviewed by: Lorrie
not what I was hoping for after reading the reviews. I was looking for a mix that would give me the texture of the ready-to-bake pillsbury cookies. These seem to lean more to the side of a cake"ish" type. I am going to try it with just 1 egg in the next batch and see what happens. Still not bad if you like that texture, we just don't. TIP: Making these for your own cupboard and don't have jars? Put in ziplock sandwhich bags and write the 2 eggs and vanilla on the bag.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Nov 2005
Reviewed by: LENOIRLADY
My friend was looking for a "massive" amt. of cookies to make and send to Iraq. This was a God's send! Thanks.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Dec 2008
Reviewed by: Kris
I didn't bake these; just gave them as gifts. I used half of the choc. chips and layered the chips - 2/3 c. of each for each jar. Since the chips weren't combined with the other ingredients, I couldn't fit the chips called for in the recipe in the jars anyway. They turned out beautiful.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Nov 2007
Reviewed by: Michelle74
General concept is a good one, but the actual cookie was a little too rich. Would use half the chocolate & or butterscotch chips.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes