My Reviews (135)

Pasta with Sausages and Capsicum

A robust Italian meal. Serve with a crusty bread, a green salad and a dry red wine. The amount of oil and garlic can be adjusted to your taste.
Reviews (135)


05 Aug 2010
Reviewed by: naples34102
What fun, Surfwrench! This isn't how I typically make sausage and peppers but I couldn't resist trying this with such a cute and catchy name and I got a kick out of how you came up with the recipe! I used rigatoni rather than spaghetti because I didn't remove the sausage from the casings, so I needed a sturdier pasta. I just cut the links into manageable sections. I added a little red wine and used fresh herbs rather than dried. At the end, I couldn't resist throwing in some chopped, fresh San Marzano tomatoes from my garden. Hubs said he likes the way I usually make sausage and peppers better, but when I reminded him that the whole point was to try something different, he agreed this was very good in its own right! I admit my own Italian bias, but beyond that I have to say you can't go wrong with this recipe - it's delicious!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Nov 2003
Reviewed by: DOWNALONG
I wedge a large yellow onion and saute it with the peppers, and add more garlic, seasoned salt, fresh ground pepper, and a shake of red pepper flakes. There needs to be enough olive oil to coat the pasta well. My two Grandsons like it done with Polish Sausage, too. This is what my Brother-in-law always wants when he comes for dinner. A tossed salad and garlic bread makes a perfect meal.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 May 2010
Reviewed by: Paula
I tried this one last night and my family LOVED it!! My Italian husband accused me of stealing the recipe from his mother! The only change I made was I added a large can (drained) of diced tomatoes to it. I am definitely saving this one as a family favorite! Thanks for the great recipe!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Jul 2004
Reviewed by: Tagerine
Surfwench is my mommy, and this dish is delicious!! I demand that she makes it every time I come over for dinner, and it gets better every time! I just signed up for my own account on allrecipes.com and this is the first recipe I'm adding to my own recipe box : ) Thanks mom!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Nov 2010
Reviewed by: Jolie
I've got to be honest, I got major brownie points with my hubby just for texting him that I was making a Godfather-inspired meal for dinner. I did make some changes (2-3 cloves of garlic instead of 1, added a can of drained italian-style diced tomatoes, a splash of red wine, 1 chopped small onion, multi-grain penne instead of spaghetti, and extra sausage cut into bite-sized pieces), but I don't think any of these changed the character of the dish too much. It was tasty and filling, and while he ate, hubby picked up an Italian accent as he told me about movie references to food in The Godfather. I guess that means it was a success - I'll make it again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Jan 2005
Reviewed by: grizzly bobby
This dish was hearty without being "heavy." Such a change of pace from tomato-based pasta dishes. The only thing we did different was to remove the casings completely and cook the sausage crumbled. That way, every inch of the pasta absorbed the sausage flavor. Will make again, and again...and again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Feb 2003
Reviewed by: Shelley W
This was very good - I used hot turkey sausage and it was delicious while it cut a lot of the fat from the original recipe. I got raves and will definitely make this again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Jan 2005
Reviewed by: TOURLAGOON
I was thrilled when I found this recipe, as my husband and I both love Italian sausage and pasta. I prepared it exactly as the recipe stated. It was very quick and simple to prepare. I will be serving this dish often. Thank you Mama Corleone for sharing this recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: Ashley
delicious! Hubby & have wanted to try a "sausage & pepeprs" recipe, but were skeptical since neither one of us were real pepper fans. I only used two peppers, an orange & a red. Used at least three times the garlic. Used 5 sausage links, removed the casings and cut into bite size chunks. Cooked covered on med with 1/4 cup water for 10 minutes. Transfered to a plate & used the grease/water mixture in the skillet for the peppers. I also added about 1 cup chopped onion. I think we will add a green pepper next time.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Feb 2011
Reviewed by: Kitty Stoykovich
This was fairly simple to put together and tasted very good! The colorful peppers really add to the dish. I recommend this one for a nice weeknight meal.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes