My Reviews (222)

Smoked Paprika Beef Stew

This beef stew can be made fresh, browning the meat then tossing all the ingredients together in the slow cooker, or it can be prepared ahead of time by freezing the meat and vegetables separately and assembling on the day.
Reviews (222)


24 Nov 2010
Reviewed by: CinfulySwt
This is the perfect stew recipe for someone who has never tried to make stew before. It gives you the basic proportions and you can leave out or add ingredients to suit your tastes. I added a little bit of gravy flour at the end to thicken. This was delicious!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Nov 2010
Reviewed by: Debbie Crosby
I have just made this for the 2nd time. Absolutely perfect!! I used red wine instead of marsala wine because that is what I had. Also, I left out the paprika because I didn't have any. This did not make a difference. This is the best beef stew I've ever had or made!! 5 years later, and this has become an old regular FAVORITE in our home!! I cannot rave enough about this recipe!! I usually make sure to have the marsala wine, because I just love the flavor that it adds, but regular red wine is fine too! Still have never used the smoked paprika, just regular paprika from the spice rack! I make this 2 or 3 times throughout the fall/winter, and it's ALWAYS everyone's FAVORITE!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Dec 2010
Reviewed by: Ed B
Made this the day before a tailgate party. I didn't even have a chance to go back for seconds! what a hit!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Nov 2010
Reviewed by: navyrachey07
Excellent and VERY easy! I made mashed potatoes and served them in the bottom of the bowls and put the stew on top. A very hearty meal for a very hungry family!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Jan 2012
Reviewed by: Rock_lobster
Make-Ahead Slow Cooker Beef Stew Haiku: "'Stew' and 'Haiku' rhyme! Nevermind that, this was good! Thick, hearty stew, yum!" Halved the recipe, and due to what I had available, had to use diced tomatoes instead of crushed, non-organic beef broth (pfft, I don't always buy into the "organic" marketing), and regular paprika. But wow, when I got home from work, I swear I was like a cartoon character being beckoned to the kitchen with a wafting finger of aroma - smelled awesome! Taste was great on a chilly night; looking forward to leftovers tomorrow!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Oct 2010
Reviewed by: Sara Kortz Withrow
I thought this was an excellent dish\. My whole family loved it! Had to make a couple modifications due to a tomato and mushroom allergy, but otherwise didn't mess with it the first time. Added the thickener and don't think it did much. Ended up serving it over mashed potatoes and that worked well. Next time I may cut back on the broth a bit and see how that works out.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Nov 2010
Reviewed by: semote
This was delicious and very easy. I wish the beef was more tender; it wasn't bad, just wasn't melting in my mouth. Not sure hot to fix that in the future. But very hearty and will be making again for sure!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Nov 2010
Reviewed by: Kathy Wycoff
This is definately a keeper! Easy to make and the whole family loved it! I did flour and brown the meat on the stove, but don't see this as a needed step if it is cooked on low. The only wine on hand was a cabernet, so used it and it tasted great. Will definately make this for both home and church.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
07 Nov 2010
Reviewed by: Angie09
Excellent recipe! It's one of the best beef stews I've ever made, and it was easy and didn't take a lot of time to prepare. I substituted regular paprika for smoked, used 4 potatoes, 3 celery stalks, and 1/4 c rice wine with 1 T brandy instead of marsala wine. I don't think any of these alterations made a huge difference, and I will definitely make this recipe again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Oct 2010
Reviewed by: casualcook
This recipe was incredible. The problem I tend to have with beef stew is that the meat turns out too dry. This version leaves the meat tender and delicious. Thank you BusySpoons!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes