My Reviews (222)

Smoked Paprika Beef Stew

This beef stew can be made fresh, browning the meat then tossing all the ingredients together in the slow cooker, or it can be prepared ahead of time by freezing the meat and vegetables separately and assembling on the day.
Reviews (222)


11 Nov 2010
Reviewed by: WannaBGoodCook
This was so good! My search for a great beef stew is finally over. My husband raved about it while he was eating it, mentioned it again later that night, and then raved again when we had leftovers the next night. I cooked the beef stew on low overnight and had my husband shut it off when he got up so it would cool enough for me to put it in the refrigerator before I left for work. It was so good I couldn't stop taking bites. That night, I let it simmer on the stove for about an hour while I made some corn bread to go with it and I had all I could do not to take a bowl. But I convinced myself to wait until I thickened it and it was so worth it. I made no changes to the recipe other than not putting in the mushrooms (my husband hates them) and I used regular paprika and diced tomatoes since that is what I had. I had never put tomatoes in a beef stew but I really think it added something. Thanks for sharing.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Nov 2010
Reviewed by: Rx 2 RV
Outstanding! I made minor changes: omitted the wine since I didn't have any and the mushrooms because I don't like them in stew, increased carrots, celery, potatoes by about 50%. This is now THE stew recipe at my house!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Sep 2010
Reviewed by: julis82
I really liked this. I changed a little bit but overall was the same recipe. I didn't have marsala so i used dry white wine and i used regular paprika. The flavor is great, i will make that again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Sep 2014
Reviewed by: Kathy
Delicious! I made as written with a few enhancements. I added some spices from another recipe - one heaping teaspoon rosemary, one teaspoon parsley and two bay leaves. What flavor! Because several people commented that there was too much juice, I only used 1 can of beef broth instead of three. As it cooked it became plenty juicy. Then after 11 hours in the crock pot I removed about a cup of juice, boiled it and added the cornstarch to thicken. Then I added it back to the crock pot and stirred. Perfect! This is going to be a staple at my house.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Nov 2010
Reviewed by: JennM
I really wanted this recipe to blow me away with the marsala wine and tomatoes. It was definatly really good but I would haave liked more.......... something. I read the reviews about most of the seasoning getting lost in the excess flour so instead of a resealable bag I seasoned the beef in a container w/ a lid and shook untill the meat was seasoned evenly. Then I added 2 tbsp of flour and shook again. The meat was coated prefectly w/ out loosing any flavor. Other than that I made everything else as written. This was very good, but very classic, nothing extrodinary. I will not be making this again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Oct 2010
Reviewed by: Carrie Z.
Yum yum...this was so great. I used regular paprika instead of spanish and it was still awesome. Thanks for submitting!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Sep 2010
Reviewed by: LadySly
This is a very nice change from the bay leaf recipies I normally use. I used a Sweet Marsala and it added a really nice hint of sweetness to it. I did thicken the gravy a bit more at the end by spooning the juice into another pan and thickening it separately then mixing it back in to the slowcooker... turned out wonderfully delicious! Highly recommend this recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Oct 2010
Reviewed by: cb2
My husband & I really enjoyed this stew! We love crock pot cooking since it's easy & typically yields enough for left overs. I left out the wine since we don't care for that flavor, used 2.5 pounds of chuck and low sodium broth since organic wasn't available. Still delicious with the slight changes. We paired it with homemade biscuits.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Oct 2010
Reviewed by: HerbanSpoons
We assembled this with our cooking group then, my family tried the frozen, place everything in the crock pot method--and it was simply, delicious and full of flavor! Total time saver! I will certainly be making this again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Nov 2010
Reviewed by: KONWAL
This was OK. Even after adding the flour the gravy was too thin for us. And there just wasn't much taste. Won't be making this one again I am afraid.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes