My Reviews (35)

Buttermilk Cinnamon Spice Cake

You won't believe a cake this simple can be this good. You can fill it and ice it with your favourite icing if you like, or just eat it plain.
Reviews (35)


23 Sep 2007
Reviewed by: cleighs
This was great but I did make some changes. I didn't have buttermilk, so just used 1 c. milk and 1 TB lemon juice mixed in. Also, I did a full teaspoon of cinnamon and added 1 tsp. ginger, 1/2 tsp. nutmeg, and 1/2 tsp. allspice since one reviewer said it was bland. These spices made it taste great. I just threw it all into one large rectangle cake pan instead of two round ones and it turned out fine.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 May 2008
Reviewed by: HOODWINK23
This is my favorite spice cake recipe. I've made it 4 times now, and this time was my first making it at a high altitude (4500 feet), and with only very slight adjustments, it was still very moist! I changed from shortening to butter, because I like butter better, and I also added 1/4 tsp allspice, and an extra 1/4 tsp cinnamon for a spicier cake, because it just doesn't smell spicy enough for me the way the recipe calls for. For anyone at high altitudes, the only adjustments I made were I removed 1 tbsp sugar, and 1/8 tsp of baking powder, added 1 tbsp of 2% milk, 1 tbsp butter and 1 extra egg, and it came out moist, and didn't rise too early. It looked and tasted great with a simple cream cheese frosting.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
27 Jan 2008
Reviewed by: Mrs. Nix
There is a popular-brand cinnamon swirl cake mix that we can't get anymore where we live, and I was looking for a recipe here at Allrecipes.com to replace it. This recipe turned out to be nothing like what I was looking for, but I am SO glad I found it. Making the recipe exactly as written, the end product is a very dense cake with the texture of a good spice bread. Unlike most of the spice cakes I've had, it is not overpoweringly spicy, nor is it tremendously sweet. It's a refreshingly different kind of cake, and we all really enjoyed it. Some notes/suggestions: (1) I recommend making this in a single-layer rectangular pan. (2) When making this cake batter, it is very important that you beat the cake AS STATED for the times stated in the recipe. Your cake will not have the intended texture if you take shortcuts (like hand mixing or mixing for less time than called for) or if you overbeat the batter after the eggs have been added. So...follow the instructions. (3) If you don't like cloves, substitute ginger or allspice, etc. Just DON'T substitute all of them. Pick ONE as a substitute and go with that. Adding a tsp of three other flavors is going to overpower this cake and make it unfit to eat, in my opinion. This is a great recipe. Thanks so much for sharing it.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Jun 2010
Reviewed by: Regina Hitchcock
One look at the instructions for this recipe made me doubt the fluffiness, so I made it using the same ingredients, but as a usual cake. Beat shortening(or butter) with sugar until fluffy. Add eggs, one at a time, beating well after each addition. Alternately add flour mixture and buttermilk and beat for another minute or two before pouring into prepared pans. Came out truly magical! It could use a little more spice, perhaps some allspice or more cinnamon. Otherwise, absolutely delicious!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Jan 2003
Reviewed by: ANNADAISY5
Delicious and easy to make! I personally subbed egg nog for the buttermilk to make a holiday cake. I also make a basic white frosting and flavored it with egg nog. Great Recipe! Lends itself well to modification.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Mar 2011
Reviewed by: Sherry
What a disappointment. It was very dry and the flavor was not like any spice cake I've had before. Will not make again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Aug 2005
Reviewed by: pstreadwell
I made this cake for a groom's cake at a friend's wedding. It was a huge hit. Everyone there wanted the recipe.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 May 2011
Reviewed by: Marguerite
My family and I loved this cake. I used butter intead of shortening and left everything else the same. It is mildly spiced and delicious. We ate it plain and it was gone in a day. Great recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Mar 2011
Reviewed by: wyomingnan
Whew - I just wanted a quick, moist spice cake that didn't really even need a frosting. I just made the recipe as stated with a few adjustments for high altitude. I was confused because it said original recipe - 1 - 9 inch pan but called for 2. The batter seemed really stiff and I decided to check them at 1/2 cooking time-they were already done! The cakes were really crumbly & slightly dry and bland so I make the orange glaze from another recipe, adding some almond and rum extract & poked holes in both layers to soak it up. I also added chopped pecans on both layers. I think it's OK, but not fantastic. Maybe it'll be better in morning after soaking a bit in fridge. A cream cheese or whip cream frosting would probably be good too. It's just a lot of tweaks for what should be a simple spice cake.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Dec 2000
Reviewed by: SAMSAH
This is one of the best spice cake recipes I have found, moist and delicious. My family is always requesting this one.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes