My Reviews (17)

Coconut Chocolate Bars for a Crowd

This recipe makes a very large batch of layer bars with coconut, walnut, chocolate and condensed milk. Great for cake stalls or food gifts.
Reviews (17)


29 Nov 2008
Reviewed by: Lisa Marie
I've been making these for years...They are much better when you layer as follows: melted butter, sprinkle crushed crackers next, chocolate chips, walnuts, coconut & save the sweetened milk for Last. No need to press them down either. Cook for 28 minutes & you have the best cookie ever!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Jan 2003
Reviewed by: SHEEEZZ
A family favorite at my house. If you use a glass pan, you need to reduce the temperature by 25 degrees or the outside edge gets very hard.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Jan 2006
Reviewed by: Joan
The came out terrible. Even the guys at work did not eat them. There was no balance between the ingredients - too much crust, not enough chocolate. Parts were so hard they ended up going out to the birds. I was very careful in following the recipe, since this was the first time I had made them. I am no t a novice cook, and yes I do know the difference between evaporated and sweetened-condensed milk.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Oct 2006
Reviewed by: GINAH1
I usually make half as many of these using a 9X13 pan, and I always toss in a cup of butterscotch chips as well. These are always a favorite!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 May 2009
Reviewed by: Marcia
Excellent, easy treat. I line my pan with parchment paper......bars come out very, very easy....(chill first) Also, I put 1/2 choc chips and 1/2 butterscotch chips on top of the crust, then the nuts, then the coconut......then, I pour the sweetened condensed milk over the top of this..... Works much, much, better.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Dec 2005
Reviewed by: tyrahat
Looks like the last reviewer used EVAPORATED milk instead of Condensed. Make sure you use condensed or you will have a soupy mess on your hands!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Dec 2001
Reviewed by: LAUDA
These needed to harden in the fridge for 24 hours, but they were great, we brought them to my parents for thanksgiving and they were devoured!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Apr 2009
Reviewed by: SEJ
My family has enjoyed these for years and years. However, we take out the nuts and coconut flakes. And we sprinkle the chocolate chips on top without pressing them into the condensed milk. One pan is usually gone in a night and there are only 4 of us!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Sep 2009
Reviewed by: MaiaBear
I didn't have graham cracker crumbs so I had to use oreo crumbs, but I will agree that they were a bit too greasy. However, everything tasted good together in combination (I think it would have def been better with graham cracker crumbs, less butter or more crumbs to avoid all the greasy texture) Delish otherwise!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Apr 2007
Reviewed by: Suzy Q
These are addictive. I have made them countless times and they always turn out well. Yummmeeeeeeeeeeeeee
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes