My Reviews (443)

Walnut Coconut Bars

These bars are very rich and delicious. They use two kinds of chocolate chips, dark and white. You can add different nuts such as pecans if you like.
Reviews (443)


14 Jul 2008
Reviewed by: Chef Joy
HELPFUL TIPS THAT HELPED ME: If you're like me, you'll probably be thinking "this is way too sweet" while you put all those chocolate chips on top of the crust & YOU'LL BE RIGHT! LOL I think 1/2 cup of one or a little less than 1/2C of each is perfect!! If you do chocolate chips only, try using a mixture of semi-sweet and milk chocolate. It's an amazing blend that I always get comments on!!! Second, mine turns out perfect using just a 14oz (1 cup) can of fat-free sweetened condensed milk. Thought that may help someone when trying to decide what can to buy w/o pre-measuring. I just drizzled all over, and it covered it perfectly! Lastly, when I don't have a box of graham cracker crumbs, I just use quick oats, and it still turns out good! I like to individually wrap these in plastic wrap so the kids can just grab and go. I'd say "grab and share" but they'd prefer eating the whole thing themselves!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Jan 2011
Reviewed by: Crystal S
These are always the first to go during the holiday period. I usually increase the graham cracker crust so the bar has a more solid base and the chocolate and butterscotch chips to 1 cup vs 3/4 cup. Wonderful recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Sep 2004
Reviewed by: The Cake Maker
Substituted Quaker Quick 1 Minute Oats for graham cracker crumbs -- worked beautifully. Try it!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Apr 2010
Reviewed by: CHOIRBARBIE
My husband loves this one ... and so do I!! One hint - try putting the can of condensed milk in hot water for 5 minutes before pouring over the coconut, etc - it pours so easily and evenly over the rest of the bar. This may not be new to others, but I just thought of it today. Enjoy!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Nov 2011
Reviewed by: mbhebert
This recipe is NOT the original. You must mix the butter and crumbs together, then press into the bottom of the pan (which you definitely should grease before doing this!). Also, put in the chocolate, then nuts, then coconut, and finally drizzle with the milk. Otherwise, the bars fall apart because there's no "glue" to hold it together.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Apr 2006
Reviewed by: Nicole R.
Although I prefer to leave the nuts off, this is the best version of this recipe. The milk MUST be on top of it all, make for a chewy, more gooey type bar. I've tried it with the milk over the crust first and it just wasn't nearly as good (disappointed). Yummy!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Nov 2007
Reviewed by: jimbo
A great recipe... It turned out great just like it should when you exactly follow the recipe...
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Jun 2002
Reviewed by: PUPPY318
I find it amazing that something so easy to prepare can be so delicious! I don't like butterscotch, so I used peanut butter chips instead. These cookies are really rich so the recipe goes a long way! My family's rating- a definite keeper!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 May 2008
Reviewed by: Christine
The coconut wasn't browning, so I baked the bars for 25 minutes and then stuck them under the broiler at low for 1-2 minutes. Broiling did just the trick- it gave the coconut a great golden color, just don't over-do it in the broiler because it can get too brown really quickly.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Jul 2003
Reviewed by: MAGGIE MCGUIRE
Quick and simple! You get great big results for just a little bit of work. We don't care for butterscotch, so I used cappucino chips and added 1/4t of cinnamon to the sw.cond. milk. I think the cinnamon enhances the chocolate/coffee flavor of the chips.Thanks for a great start,Shawn.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes