My Reviews (153)

Easy Coconut Walnut Bars

This recipe is from my grandmother and it is super simple to make. Walnuts, chocolate, coconut and condensed milk combine to make a great bar.
Reviews (153)


08 Oct 2005
Reviewed by: Danielle L.
This has been my absolute favorite treat since I was a small child. This recipe has been passed down from generation to generation and I love it! Although, the recipe my family has is a little bit different than this one... Tips - Mix the margarine/butter and graham cracker crumbs together to make a firmer "crust". (My family also melts the margarine in the pan in the oven.) - Pour the condensed milk on the graham cracker crumbs BEFORE adding the other ingredients. It seems to make everything stick together better and it makes it so much more presentable! - Use more than 1 cup of chocolate chips. Especially if you're a chocolate lover. 1 cup just isn't enough! Also, I like the recipe better without the nuts. They seem to kind of take away from the other flavors. But I'm not a big fan of nuts in desserts to begin with. Hope you enjoy these as much as I do!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Mar 2007
Reviewed by: Kelli Tennison
These are great. I would suggest mixing the graham cracker crumbs and butter together first and pressing into your pan. Pour Sweetened Condensed Milk over crust, then layer with remaining ingredients. Makes it all stick together better. You can substitute chocolate chips or nuts with dried cranberries, raisins, mini marshmallows or butterscotch chips. So many variations to use. Always a crowd pleaser.......
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Nov 2006
Reviewed by: BunnyD
Very yummy! I made a few modifications after reading the reviews - I used chocolate graham crackers and doubled the graham cracker/butter base since a few of the reviewers said the base was a little skimpy as it is - I liked the thickness of the base but would probably use less butter next time. I put the milk on top of the base since other reviewers said it made for a more attractive bar (I might do half under and half over next time though, to help the toppings stick better) and instead of just semi-sweet chocolate chips I mixed white chocolate chips and chocolate/peanut butter swirled chips. Since the base was thicker it took longer to cook. I check them after 25 minutes and they were not even close to being done so I covered it with foil to keep the coconut from burning and had to bake it for about 20 additional minutes. They were awesome once the cooled and set up a bit, I'll definitely make this again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 Oct 2008
Reviewed by: cataloginglovely
This is very similar to a recipe I used to make at a bakery I worked at years ago. It's great for people who don't like exact measurements and who like to experiment. At the bakery we used white chocolate, milk chocolate, and butterscotch chips, coconut, walnuts, and sweetened condensed milk. I have also tried peanut butter chips, almonds, and M&M baking pieces, all with great success. The only trick to this recipe is not baking it too long or the sugars in the milk will harden after cooling. Gooey-ness is the key!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Apr 2008
Reviewed by: CookinginFL
This is such a classic...we always called them 'Hello Dollies.' I poured half of the can of sweetened condensed milk over the crust, then the other half over the enitre thing before baking. I omitted the nuts (going to be serving for a large group, omitted just in case some don't care for/are allergic to), also - I didn't have any chocolate chips, so I just chopped up some Easter chocolate they we have over from Easter this year - used a bit more than a cup. Great recipe - everyone loves it, a lot like Mounds bars.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
16 Jan 2009
Reviewed by: Sarah
This is so delicious! The only reason I gave this 4 stars is because the recipe calls for sprinkling the crumbs. You have to create a crust on the pan and I poured the condensed milk with each layer so everything was nicely layered together without falling apart.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Jul 2007
Reviewed by: greeninoregon
I totally agree with doubling the crust. I made two batches, the first as the recipe says and the second with a "crust and a half". I wish I had totally doubled it! I have had these bars from a local bakery and I am trying to get them to taste like theirs with no avail. Perhaps a bigger crust? The chocolate chips were a little over-powering. I am wondering if I put less in, or if the consistency of chips changes from brand to brand? I'd love some feedback.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 May 2004
Reviewed by: KELYEE816
Whenever I make these bars for my college friends, they disappear like crazy! Out of everything that I bake, these seem to be everybody's favorite. The only suggestion I would make is to combine the graham cracker crumbs and butter together in a bowl instead of sprinkling the crumbs over the butter. This makes the crust firmer, and the bars do not break as easily. Other than that, these bars are excellent, and definitely a crowd pleaser!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Jul 2005
Reviewed by: Rochelle
This has been a favorite of mine for several years. Quick, easy, sooo good. I also recomend replacing the graham crackers with 1/2 of box of yellow cake mix - creates a much richer bar. ENJOY
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Jul 2011
Reviewed by: Deborah Norris
I made this classic bar cookie when I was in my teens. I made this recipe with my daughter and son. Now I just made this recipe with my grand daughter. It's that good. Absolute best dessert comfort food.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes