My Reviews (39)

Easy Coconut Bars

These bars are quite like classic coconut macaroons except very easy to make using prepackaged devil's food cake mix. Pecans add a special touch.
Reviews (39)


22 Apr 2006
Reviewed by: SPICY1
This recipe was very easy, and came out quite well. I did add extra coconut. They freeze very well too.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Apr 2006
Reviewed by: Rhonda
My family loved this recipe. The cake part wasn't crumbly, but spreadable. They thought it was like fudge brownie with coconut on top. I left out the nuts and just added extra coconut. I am going to share this recipe with friends.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
18 Mar 2006
Reviewed by: JUSTCYN
Rename this recipe. Yeah it's some kind of brownies with coconut goo on top. Very, very yummy. I left out the pecans and added 1/3 cup extra coconut to make up for it. I used a cake mix with pudding and found the base was not exactly "crumbly" but more like spreadable like, oh yeah, did I mention, brownies. Still five star good and the coconut topping added an interesting dimension to the, uhhh, brownies. Delicious. Hubby loved them too.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Mar 2002
Reviewed by: VIVIBO
These are great! Very easy to make - I did have to cook a little longer than called for and then slightly burned the edges. Next time I'll be more careful and take them out a bit before the center is completely set. They're definitely a keeper! Thanks for sharing
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Dec 2001
Reviewed by: MJBEE
I made these with a yellow cake mix instead of chocolate. The almond flavor was great!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
21 Apr 2005
Reviewed by: DARLA
I do not like them, Sam I Am. I do not like them here or there. I do not like them anywhere!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 May 2007
Reviewed by: Tracy Rice Bittner
Great bars! Next time I will probably add mini chocolate chips to the cake mixture to add a little more to it. I also drizzled bittersweet chocolate on top, it went well with the sweetness of the coconut layer!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
12 Dec 2005
Reviewed by: Dianne Arnold
This receipe is awesome. Simple and delicious.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Jan 2007
Reviewed by: Justquilting
Really a brownie, I must agree. My teens loved this and very easy to make they could have done it themselves.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 May 2006
Reviewed by: Popcorny
Knowing these would have a brownie texture, and that pecans didn't have to be added to make them successfully, I made these and loved 'em. If they could only have lasted long enough for the bake sale.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes