My Reviews (15)

Easy Date and Pecan Bars

These date and pecan bars make great snacks, especially when out bushwalking or hiking. They are very quick and easy to make.
Reviews (15)


03 Jan 2007
Reviewed by: palakpaneer
This is a great recipe. Regarding the low review: because there is no oil or butter in the recipe, the moisture content of the dates is very important in how "luscious" this cake is. I get a tub of dates at Costco and I dig out the stickiest, most moist dates in the tub and use for this recipe. This is especially important for the drier 'Deglet Noor' variety of dates. If you can get your hands on *very fresh* 'Medjool' dates, the recipe is phenomenal. In summary, don't use dried up dates because most of the moisture in this cakes derived from the dates and if the dates aren't moist then the cake will be dry. If this were truly a bad recipe, it wouldn't be rated so high. This is a case where the quality of ingredients counts. I have made this a few times and I am comfortable changing it up a little depending on what I have on hand. It's great as-is, but I like it with a handful of Guittard milk chocolate chips and/or a handful of Baker's coconut, too! People who have never eaten dates before rave when they try this cake!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
01 Apr 2012
Reviewed by: pianoyvette
I really enjoyed making this recipe: it was quick and easy and extremely tasty. I am gluten intolerant so exchanged the plain flour and baking powder for 125g gluten-free self-raising flour and it worked fine. Mine were cooked after about 28 minutes, so it might be worth checking yours a little early and then take them out if the skewer is clean. Leave them in too long and they will start to burn on the bottom.
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
02 Sep 2004
Reviewed by: MEDUSA3139
I lowered the batter down for 6 people, because I had only one egg, but when I made the dough, it was to little for the pan. I doubled everything (exept for the egg) and made cookies instead. They were delisious! Since there are 5 people in my family, I give it 10 thumbs up!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Jan 2008
Reviewed by: Turbo
Made it and tastes great.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Aug 2012
Reviewed by: CaughtBakingBug
Yum, I made this with a slight alteration. I had more pecans than dates in my ingredient cupboard. Nevertheless, it did not effect the flavour, I loved it. I will be making these again, once i have replenished the cupboards. It was a very easy recipe to follow too.
 
(Review from Allrecipes UK & Ireland)
02 Oct 2009
Reviewed by: sweetjunkie
I hate to give negative reviews but I found this cake to be dry and tasteless. I was sorely disappointed because the word "luscious" in and of itself calls to mind other words such as moist, creamy, rich, etc. This was none of those. I was able to salvage the recipe by frosting them with a browned butter icing, but as-is they are dry little bars.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Oct 2006
Reviewed by: Misty
Excellent recipe! Make sure to cut the bars while warm it's so much easier.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
25 Mar 2009
Reviewed by: Dinoji
Tried and everyone loved it at home. Substituted raisins, cashews instead of pecan and added less sugar.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
17 Oct 2005
Reviewed by: kentvee
This recipe was easy and came out terrific. The only problem I had was whether to add whipped cream or ice cream to it; the whipping cream won!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 Apr 2009
Reviewed by: Tricia
I served this topped with some Greek yogurt - the 'tang' of the yogurt offset the 'too sweet' of the cake. Thanks for the great recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes