My Reviews (19)

Healthy Buttermilk Muffins

Three different whole flours make these muffins a great way to start the day. Nuts, sultanas or blueberries may be added.
Reviews (19)


Comment:
08 Oct 2008
HOCKEYCHIC said:
Made it healthier. This was a quick recipe. The texture was light and moist. I substituted orange juice for 1/2 of the liquid (still using buttermilk for the other half), drained apple sauce for the oil and honey to sweeten. Good with peanut butter!
 
Comment:
08 Oct 2008
NINLOW said:
Used different ingredients. I was prepared to love this recipe because I like my muffins not very sweet. However, and maybe it's because I substituted soy milk for the buttermilk, the texture turned out a bit too chewy for my taste. I added chopped walnuts, sultanas and dried cranberries. Overall, an OK muffin, but there are lots of other healthy muffin recipes out there that taste better than this.
 
Comment:
08 Oct 2008
MOLSON7 said:
Used different ingredients. These came out OK, a bit dry but it could be because they were overcooked. I probably won't make them again only because the sodium is very high for my diet needs, but maybe. I used extra wholemeal flour instead of the rye just because that's what I had on hand, and also added walnuts, sultanas, half a chopped up banana and a diced peach. They didn't keep well, because of the peach so I highly recommend omiting that.
 
08 Oct 2008
Reviewed by: 160125
The muffins were fine but on a personal basis I prefer muffins a bit sweeter. These were not sweet at all but that could be changed with adding sweet juice or fruit to them. Those looking for a diet high in whole grains would like this recipe but my kids didn't like them.
 
08 Oct 2008
Reviewed by: KRISTIN
I was looking for a not-too-sweet, wholegrain muffin recipe. My search ended here! These have an excellent flavour and texture. The recipe as stated only yielded 6 muffins in my tin, so I always make a double batch now. They freeze well and make a great workday snack with a little butter. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
 
08 Mar 2001
Reviewed by: KIM CARR
This was a quick recipe. The texture was light and moist. I substituted orange juice for 1/2 of the liquid (still using buttermilk for the other half), drained applesauce for the oil, and honey for the molasses. Good with peanut butter and jelly.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Jul 2004
Reviewed by: GRAFIXG
I was looking for a not-too-sweet, whole grain muffin recipe. My search ended here! These have an excellent flavor and texture. Instead of using buttermilk, which I never have around, I combine 1 TBS malt vinegar, 1 TBS part-skim ricotta cheese and enough milk to make 1 cup, blending well with a whisk. I bake them 15 minutes at 425 degrees - they got a little too brown at 450. I have also made them without the rye flour, using 2 parts whole wheat flour to 1 part soy flour. The recipe as stated only yielded 6 muffins in my pan, so I always make a double batch now. They freeze well and make a great workday snack with a little butter. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Sep 2000
Reviewed by: lenihan5
The muffins were fine but on a personal basis I prefer muffins a bit sweeter. These were not sweet at all but that could be changed with adding sweet juice or fruit to them. Those looking for a diet high in grains would like this recipe but my kids didn't like them.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Oct 2010
Reviewed by: MK!
Very good! I used 1/2 whole wheat and 1/2 rye flour because I had no soy. I also used 1/2 OJ 1/2 Milk with Vinegar for the buttermilk. Very good - not dry at all! I will be making these again for sure.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Aug 2012
Reviewed by: Nadia1401
I absolutely loves these muffins but I did change them up a bit. I was on a search for a base recipe to make protein muffins. I did 1/3 cup whole wheat flour, 1/3 cup oat bran, 1/3 cup vanilla whey protein powder. I used apple sauce + 1 tsp baking powder in place of the egg, and 1 cup nonfat plain yogurt in place of the buttermilk. I used 1 banana (mashed) in place of the oil and I added 1 tbs of chia seeds. I also added chopped prunes & dates and some chopped walnuts as well. I baked at 350 deg for about 22 minutes. These muffins turned out fantastic. Super healthy but very delicious. Will definitely make again!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes