My Reviews (109)

Fresh Lemon Bars

Lemon bars are a wonderful snack in summer. This delicate treat is made with fresh lemon and icing sugar. Wonderful with tea.
Reviews (109)


27 Apr 2005
Reviewed by: CHARLIEBUG
I wrote this recipe...Use a 11" X 7" Pan. It will NOT come out right with a bread pan. Sorry for the confusion.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Sep 2005
Reviewed by: Amanda
I thought this was one of the best lemon bar recipes I've tried. I loved the crust! I only needed to cook the lemon part for 20 minutes instead of 25. These were GREAT!!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
31 May 2007
Reviewed by: shannon
these were a huge hit! i used parchment paper to line my baking pan, and that made cutting a snap....
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Nov 2009
Reviewed by: naples34102
Many of the four or five star ratings for this recipe are only after the reviewer made significant changes. A perfect recipe should be spot on accurate and not need doctoring with amounts of ingredients, the ingredients themselves, pan sizes or baking times. While I agree with a lot of the changes made, they are no longer reviewing THIS recipe. As this recipe stands it is, first, too short on filling for this size pan. Most lemon bar recipes, however, do call for a two egg filling for an 8x8 pan, or a four egg filling for a 9x13 pan. This recipe also calls for powdered sugar in the filling, which I've never seen. I don't think it would be enough given the amount of lemon juice called for. So as written, I believe this recipe has some problems and only merits three stars. I made this in a 9x9 pan, although an 11x7 is fine too. I made the crust as written but made a couple of changes on the filling. I made 1-1/2 times the filling recipe and used regular, granulated sugar instead of the confectioners' sugar called for. I baked the crust 15 minutes at 350 degrees, and then another 15-20 minutes once the filling was added. The tartness and sweetness were just right and there was a better balance of crust to filling. I did observe, however, that I much prefer lemon bar recipes that call for a little flour in the filling as opposed to baking powder. All and all, a nice altered version of this recipe, but I'd much prefer a recipe that required no revision.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
28 May 2007
Reviewed by: MELSTEW
You need to double the lemon filling part though! YUUUUUMMMMMM!!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Dec 2006
Reviewed by: JenniJ3333
I'm normally not a fan of lemon bars, but these were really good! My mother said this was one of the best desserts she'd ever eaten. The filling had just the right amount of "chewy gooey-ness". It tastes like it has sweetened condensed milk in it, and I was really surprised to learn that it didn't. I'll definitely be making these again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Jun 2007
Reviewed by: kilikina
I couldn't decide between making this recipe or "The Best Lemon Bars" so I made both yesterday. Friends and family adored and gobbled up "The Best Lemon Bars" and this batch went virtually untouched.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
04 Jul 2005
Reviewed by: DKITANO
Light flaky shortbread type crust bottom. It perfectly balances the tart flavor of the lemon filling on top! It was awesome!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Dec 2005
Reviewed by: JANINEDAME
Really tasty! I doubled the recipe thinking I would make two batches, but ended up using all most of the crust and all of the filling for one. Next time I will probably only double the filling and put it in a 11x9 pan. It needs a little more confectioner's sugar as it was a little to tart for me!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
05 May 2007
Reviewed by: Tiffany
This was the first lemon bar recipe I have ever tried. It was easy and they turned out wonderful! So yummy and tart!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes