My Reviews (129)

Homemade Jam Fancies

This recipe makes delicious sandwich biscuits with a raspberry jam filling. You can experiment with different flavours of jam as well.
Reviews (129)


25 Aug 2005
Reviewed by: DonnaO
I have been looking for a great linzer tart recipe and I have found it!! They are so scrumptious and EVERYONE LOVED THEM!! I doubled the recipe and froze half the dough. I used it about 6 weeks later and the cookies were just as delicious.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Feb 2010
Reviewed by: Ophelia
These cookies were delicious! I rolled the dough between sheets of parchment instead of flouring - I think this prevented the dough crumbling as others have seen. I didn't have a problem with the dough crumbling, I had a problem with it being too soft to hold its shape after cutting. To fix this, I refrigerated for at least 3 hours before rolling out for the first time. I rolled batches of dough (about 1/4 of the dough each time) between two sheets of parchment, then before cutting the circles, I put the rolled out dough (still in parchment) in the freezer for about 3 minutes. This stiffened up the dough enough for me to be able to pick up the pieces easily. I also heated and simmered the jam for until thickened which made it easier to spread on the delicate cookies. I got about 27 2.5" cookies. The cookies were delicious, and my dog agreed - he got to 2/3 of them before we could eat them! I'll definitely be making another batch! The night I made them, I thought they were a little TOO crisp, but after they sat overnight, the jam soaked into the cookies JUST a bit and they were perfect!!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
06 Dec 2014
Reviewed by: LYNNINMA
I found the dough very easy to work with after letting it rest in the refrigerator for about 4 hours. Brought it out 10 minutes prior to rolling. After baking and cooling was complete, I dusted the cutout tops with sifted confectioner's sugar prior to assembling. I used about 1 cup of raspberry preserves, boiled for 10 minutes to reduce. I then let it come to a lukewarm temperature and thicken before assembling. I spread a thin layer of the thickened preserves over the entire bottom of each cookie and a larger dollop in each center to ensure the preserves peeked through the cutouts. These rich cookies are delightfully crisp, buttery and nutty, with just the right amount of sweetness from the filling and the sugar dusting.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Feb 2012
Reviewed by: starmamac
Ok you have to have the patience of a saint if you intend to refrigerate them for an hour and then attempt to roll them out. However, these are very, very tasty! I'm taking off one star because they were difficult to make. I also had to change the oven temp to 350 since they were not getting browned at all at 325. I baked them for the full 15 minutes (though my cookies were a bit thick, if yours are thin maybe less time). My advice - refrigerate overnight (at least, I refrigerated the dough for a week since I didn't have the time to roll them out), divide the dough into 2 sections and instead of forming into a ball before you refrigerate, form into a thick pancake, which will make it easier to roll out without crumbling. Use lots of flour when rolling, and don't roll too hard - a light touch works fine. I made three versions: one with 1 tsp. lemon zest and pecans instead of almonds; one with 1 tsp. orange zest, hazelnuts instead of almonds, and chocolate instead of jam; and one with 1 tsp. ground ginger and apricot jam.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 Feb 2009
Reviewed by: marshmallow
Awesome recipe! just like grandma used to make. I took a suggestion, and mixed pecans with the almonds, it does taste better. I found the dough was hard to work with after cutting them, try rolling the dough out on waxed paper then feezing them about 15 min they then come off the wax paper stiff and wont break. Heating the jam works great it bonds the cookies together so they wont slide appart. They are also much better the next day once the jam has a chance to set. It wont take long for them to disapear!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Jan 2009
Reviewed by: cupcakebean
I grew up eating Linzer Tarts, so I was extremely excited to make them for the first time using this recipe after all the good reviews. I bought some festive linzer cookie cutters from Crate & Barrel that I wanted to break in, but I was sorely disappointed with the outcome. The dough was very sticky and difficult to work with, and after all the hard work of using the cookie cutters to make the top/bottoms of the cookies I was unhappy to see the dough spreading as it baked. The cookies themselves tasted good but looked less than desirable. I probably will look elsewhere for a recipe when I finally get up the energy to make these cookies again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Dec 2008
Reviewed by: riblet
Excellent cookie, though we combined two recipes...used the spices from the other Linzer cookie on this site (cloves, cinn, and lemon rind/zest) Was a yummy combination, will make again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Feb 2008
Reviewed by: Kendra M.
Warning-- This dough is very fragile. Since little pieces keep breaking and I have a tendency to "hide" the little broken pieces in my mouth, next time I'll try a different recipe. It's not that it is too much work, it's just really tricky.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Oct 2011
Reviewed by: HollyF
This is by far my favorite cookie recipe (and everyone who tastes them agrees)! I like to use 1 cup almonds, 3/4 cup pecans. I honestly have no problem with the dough at all. Refrigerate for an hour, and then, using lots of flour, roll it out on wax paper and scoop up the cut-outs with a spatula. I never put the dough back in the fridge, and as long as you keep sprinkling flour, it's absolutely perfect!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
23 Apr 2012
Reviewed by: Fredo
Good recipe. A few hints. Get whole almonds, and bake them at 350 for about 15-20 minute. This brings out the oil in the almonds,, and the kitchen smells great. Best is to chop them finely in a food processor. I also put my rolling pin in the frezzer for 30 minutes before I roll out the dough.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes