My Reviews (129)

Homemade Jam Fancies

This recipe makes delicious sandwich biscuits with a raspberry jam filling. You can experiment with different flavours of jam as well.
Reviews (129)


08 Dec 2014
Reviewed by: Tuxedoville
A lot of work, but incredibly delicious.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
09 Feb 2014
Reviewed by: CaGirl93101
Wonderful! I made the recipe exactly as written with the exception of adding a 1/4tsp salt and 1tsp vanilla. I read so many reviews stating the dough was tough to work with - if you've ever made an all butter pie crust (and that's all I make) then simply use the same technique to roll out. Dough should be chilled, one hour is fine, no need to refridgerate overnight (indeed, then you may find it to be too hard to work; don't be shy about the amount of flour you use, really flour your counter, pin, and top - roll gently and turn dough 1/4 turn - if it sticks, lift and throw some more flour under it. Keep gently rolling and turning, pinching dough back together if it cracks. And Voila! If you think you can get in there and roll it out like busciut dough, you're going to have problems sure, but if you're patient, its really not scary!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
30 Jan 2014
Reviewed by: Rose
Outstanding! Everyone thought they store bought! As a suggestion, don't put on the preserves until you are ready to serve the cookies. The cookies stay crispy in an airtight container. Enjoy!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
24 Nov 2013
Reviewed by: Luv2eat
I cringe making these. They are the most labor intensive cookies I've ever made - even compared to rainbow cookies! But i've been using this recipe for a few years now and EVERYONE loves it. The only difference is I use almond extract instead of the almonds slivers. To help with the labor, I devote a weekend to making at least two batches and cut them all out and freeze them individually so come the holidays I only need to bake and put them together. When i bake for a holiday, I actually knead the dough so its workable, roll and cut like a madwoman and put the cookies in the freezer for 5 min before prying them off my nonstick flimsy cutting board. THEN i bake them so the shape isnt compromised. Sometimes the cookie expands - not sure why but im sure it has to do with my bootleg baking method. But they are still pretty and yummy to eat the next day.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 Oct 2013
Reviewed by: StephW
Incredibly tasty recipe. Just remember to CHILL!!! I can't repeat this enough. I chilled for the recommended 1 hour, and the dough would not let go of my heavily floured surface. Then, I tried to refrigerate it overnight, and kept all the scraps in the freezer for a few minutes before I re-worked the dough. The cookie has such a nice, light crunch. It is also not too sweet, and complimented the jam I used very well!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
22 Aug 2013
Reviewed by: Mirimia
so so good, did not change a thing and it was delicious
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Jan 2013
Reviewed by: KATHY SINK
After making the first sheet of cookies, working with the dough was so difficult that I swore I would never do it again. HOWEVER after tasting one, I changed my thinking completely. These are incredibly buttery and flaky. Very subtle flavor. I used homemade Austrian apricot preserves for the filling. The contrast of the slightly sweet cookie with the tart preserves makes a perfect cookie. It's all about the finished look and the taste. Get over the fact that the dough is a bear to work with!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Sep 2011
Reviewed by: Vegan Sue
I made a vegan version of this recipe using Earth Balance buttery sticks in lieu of butter. I also took the advice of one of the reviewers and rolled out the dough between two pieces of parchment, without adding flour. That worked very well. The tarts took 15 - 17 minutes to bake, not sure why, but they looked beautiful. All-in-all, a great success--relatively easy to prepare and so incredibly delicious.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Aug 2011
Reviewed by: jey820
LOVED this recipe. The only thing I changed was to add 1/8 tsp of ground cloves to the batter. These cookies were GONE in less than 24 hours at my house.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
19 Aug 2011
Reviewed by: Rach5b
AWESOME, but time consuming, however, very very worth it
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes