My Reviews (121)

Caprese Mozzarella Salad

Thick slices of fresh mozzarella cheese, layered between slices of tomato and topped with torn strips of fresh basil then drizzled with olive oil. Delicious.
Reviews (121)


08 Nov 2010
Reviewed by: Cathrine
Made this for a BBQ last weekend and it was the first salad to go. So simple and yummy.
 
30 Jul 2011
Reviewed by: Crystal S
Known by the Italian name of Insalata Capresse which is traditionally served as Owen's recipe indicates ~ no balsamic vinegar. The key to this dish is using FRESH ingredients. My family enjoys this salad using JUST picked tomatoes and basil from the garden and fresh mozzarella known as "burrata" which is made in the Puglia region in the south of Italy and is considered an artisanal cheese (the name "burrata" means "buttered" in Italian). Usually you can find buratta in specialty food stores... The outer shell is solid mozzarella while the inside contains both mozzarella and cream, giving it an unusual, soft texture and is usually served fresh, at room temperature. I serve this with a splash of GOOD balsamic vinegar with sea salt and fresh cracked pepper. Serve with a fresh crusty loaf of bread and a bottle of Rose or Viognier which are fruity wines that pair well with this disn and one is in heaven.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
29 Feb 2004
Reviewed by: SKYQUEEN
You simply *MUST* use FRESH mozzarella cheese to fully appreciate this recipe. I can't even imagine it with the bland, hard stuff you find in the dairy case at grocery stores. Fresh mozzarella is a bit difficult to find but it's worth the effort. Try specialty stores. I like to slice fresh tomatoes, sprinkle with sea salt, add torn pieces of fresh basil, then the mozzarella. Drizzle all with a good quality extra virgin olive oil combined with a splash of balsamic vinegar.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
03 Aug 2006
Reviewed by: Karen Saurer
Ate some style of this salad daily when visiting Italy. Simplify even more by using fresh Roma tomatoes for the best flavor and basil infused EVOO...simply put some fresh leaves of basil into an empty salad dressing bottle, pour your favorite EVOO into the bottle and it will taste delicious within hours. A nice healthy summer salad.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
11 May 2003
Reviewed by: KJB357
I did something a bit different with this recipe and it worked well. I diced the tomotoes and cubed the cheese. Served it in a bowl like a salad. Everyone loved it. Will make it again and again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
13 Jul 2006
Reviewed by: thedailygourmet
Although this is called "Owens Mozzarella and Tomato Salad" most people are familiar w/ the name Tomato Caprese. We served this w/ basil pesto on the side. Will post a picture.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
15 Jun 2011
Reviewed by: Jillian
Call it "Owen's Salad" or call it by it's more traditional name "Insalata Caprese" - I call it just plain GOOD! Tomato and basil are a classic combination and when paired with fresh mozzarella you have something so simple and so delicious you could make a meal out of this all by itself! I like to add a bit of sea salt along with fresh cracked black pepper. I NEVER refridgerate this and if you want to add a bit of pizzaz add a splash of good quality balsamic - perfect served with Italian bread and a nice wine!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Dec 2003
Reviewed by: JDVMD
Also known as insalata caprese. Definitely throw in some balsamic vinegar and fresh cracked black pepper. Use the best quality olive oil you can.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Dec 2001
Reviewed by: Gail
I added 2 tbs. of balsamic vinegar. It was delicious.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
20 Aug 2001
Reviewed by: AMY-NV
My friend made this for a club gathering and there were a lot of weird looks (you don't see mozzerella sliced too often) but after they were told what it was and ventured to try it it was gone quick. The tomatoes and cheese REALLY compliment eachother. Easy appetizer!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes