My Reviews (142)

Prawn and Scallop Linguine

Sea scallops and prawns go together perfectly in this amazing seafood pasta. The secret ingredient is the bright lemon zest.
Reviews (142)


10 Jun 2017
Reviewed by: kimlmaxted
Absolutely great recipe, only changes were that I used the water that I rehidrated the sun dried tomatoes instead of fish stock and had to use frozen and defrosted sea scallops as cant get fresh ones here in Spain, but prawns were large gambons ( extra lge langostines peeled , deveined and cur in half ) which I cooked along with defrosted scallops until almost done then removed from pan. I then reduced liquid by half, added a small amount of cream, the lemon zest, a handfull of grated parmesan and sun dried tomatoes, scallops and prawns and then combined with the pasta. Absolutely Yum.......
 
27 May 2005
Reviewed by: DUCHESS129
Out of this world! A good friend is a chef, so I was nervous about cooking for him and his wife. He RAVED and offered me a job in his restaurant! Even my husband, who isn't wild about pasta, couldn't get enough. Like some other reviewers, I reduced the butter and used the oil from the oil-packed sun-dried tomatoes and the result was great. I also used 6 oz. clam juice and 4 oz. white wine then reduced before adding 1/4 c. cream. Finished with a sprinkle of parmesan cheese and served with a simple mixed green salad and lots of crusty bread.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
14 Jan 2003
One cup of fat is completely out of control, so I reduced it to 4T altogether (half butter, half oil) and it still tasted great! I also thickened the sauce a bit with cornstarch and doubled both the sun-dried tomatoes and the parsley. I found that the best way to chop sun-dried tomatoes is with a strong pair kitchen scissors. Then soak them in boiling water for 15 minutes.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
02 Apr 2008
Reviewed by: kelcampbell
I should start out by saying that it's not often that I rate a recipe 5 stars, but I would give this recipe 6 if I could! I did modify it a little bit though. First, I scaled the recipe to two servings; I reduced the olive oil to 2 generous Tbsp and used the correct amount of butter; I added a large(ish) shallot along with 3 cloves of garlic. Once this was softened in the oil, I added the clam juice and the shrimp and scallops and cooked them *almost* through. I removed the seafood and reduced the remaining liquid by half (the seafood gave off quite a bit of liquid). Then I added about 1/4 cup of 10% cream; added the seafood back to the pan along with the rest of the ingredients (I used about 1/3 cup chopped, dried sundried tomatoes which I'd rehydrated in some water) and a squeeze of fresh lemon juice. I poured this over the pasta and added a grating of fresh parmesan cheese. The end result was absolutely delicious! It would also be a good dish to serve to company.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 May 2005
Reviewed by: YUMYUMEATEMUP
What gives you the right to low-ball a recipe that you haven't even tried. Personally, I found this dish to be absolutely outstanding - Yes, it is very rich . . . but the key word is 'Moderation'. Will definitely make it again.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Apr 2004
Reviewed by: COOKINMOMMY1
Oh my. I would give this ten stars if it were a choice. This was just sublime. I made it as described with the addition of 1/4 c half and half to give the sauce a little more body. It was scrumptious! My husband stopped mid-first bite, looked up at me, chewed, swallowed, and said reverently, "This is the BEST thing you have ever made." We all (including 2 year old daughter and 4 year old son) thought it was wonderful. Next time I will add a few more sundried tomatoes, but other than that, it is perfect, truly one of the best I've ever tried. Thank you so much for sharing this easy but company-quality dinner dish. Garlic bread for sopping up the sauce is a MUST! YUM!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
08 May 2007
Reviewed by: Marie RT
Like this recipe a lot; if you have a Trader Joe's in your area, I used their Frozen Seafood Mix (shrimp, calamari, scallops)instead of just shrimp and scallops (because I love calamari!)and served it over TJ's garlic & basil linguine. Served it with a salad for guests and it was gobbled up!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
31 Jul 2002
Reviewed by: DC Girly Girl
YUM!! Thanks! I decided that both butter and olive oil was too much for me, so I only used butter this time around (I figured that I'd try the fattening version first to see if I like it, and then make it healthy later). Also, I used about 3X the amount of tomatoes and a few sprigs of lemon thyme while sauteing. It was great! Thanks again!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
26 Nov 2010
Reviewed by: ANJACKSON
Excellent dish! I scaled this down just for the 2 of us and had to swap out the scallops for some lobster chunks, but I think any combo of seafood would be fabulous. I used 2 cloves of garlic and many more sun-dried tomatoes, also added a splash each of white wine and 2% evaporated milk along with the clam juice (had the milk to use up and love the white wine for the flavour with seafood). Will make again for sure, very yummy!
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)
10 Oct 2009
Reviewed by: Evcha
Great! I followed some suggestions posted before. Reduced the butter, used reserved oil from sun dried tomatoes, used 4 oz clam juice, 4 oz white wine, 2 oz heavy cream, reduced the sauce and added a little basil with parsley and some shaved parm cheese as a final note. Spectacular! My family asked for seconds and thirds.
 
(Review from Allrecipes USA and Canada)

History

Recently Viewed Recipes


Recently Searched Recipes